Context
- Euratlas: Historical Maps of Europe
Use to identify European places and geographic features from the 1st through the current century. Map may be magnified up to 600+%.
Life in the Middle Ages by Call Number: Main Library CB361.G6213 1993ISBN: 0268013004Available in print and online (see link).
The Oxford Handbook of Late Antiquity by ISBN: 9780195336931An overview of events in the Mediterranean and Europe from 300-700 CE including Arabia, Egypt, Central Asia, and the Balkans, all of Europe including Ireland and Scandinavia. Covers major events such as the fall of Rome, the rise of Christianity, the origins of Islam, and the early formation of Byzantium and the European Middle Ages. Includes a broad range of topics such as economic theory, slavery, Greek and Latin poetry, Syriac and Coptic literature, sites of religious devotion, etc.
Maps
- The Periodical Historical Atlas of Europe
The Periodical Historical Atlas of Europe shows the political situation in Europe at the end of each century (from AD 1 to AD 2000). Taken together it offers the political evolution of Europe over the past 2,000 years. The high resolution pages include detailed views of the states, provinces and cities. Download the special viewer software (called "Periodical Historical Atlas of Euorpe") for magnification from 600% to 1000%. - Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection, Univ. of Texas LibrariesHistorical maps of Europe from the Greek and Roman eras to the 20th c. Includes maps of various types: political, topographical, thematic, etc.
Encyclopedias & Dictionaries
- Grove Art Online
Most comprehensive art encyclopedia available in English; useful for scholarly overviews and excellent bibliographies.
Medieval France by Call Number: Art Reference DC33.2 M44 1995; Main Reference DC33.2 M44 1995 c.2; Art Library DC33.2 M44 1995 c.3ISBN: 0824044444This single-volume, interdisciplinary publication, presents relatively short, yet in-depth, entries on a wide variety of topics and individuals. Particularly strong in the visual arts and architecture, each signed article includes a bibliography.
Medieval Folklore by Call Number: Main Reference GR35. M43 2000 vol.1-2ISBN: 1576071219Scholarly articles clarifying “the most concrete and least contestable evidence” of folklore in medieval Europe, as defined by common history, language, and other cultural traits. Covers traditions such as Arabic-Islamic , Baltic, both the Anglo-Saxon Period and the Middle English Periods, Finno-Ugric, French, German, Hispanic, Hungarian, Irish, Italian, Jewish, Scandinavian, Scottish, Slavic (East), and Welsh. Also available online (see link).
The Oxford Companion to Christian Art and Architecture by Call Number: Art Reference N7830.M87 1996ISBN: 0198661657Also available online (see link) but you need to put in your name and barcode on your Oberlin ID to access.
The Oxford Dictionary of Byzantium by ISBN: 9780195046526Covers all aspects of Byzantine history and civilization from the 4th through the 15th centuries.
The Oxford Dictionary of the Middle Ages by ISBN: 9780198662624European history, society, and culture from 500 to 1500 A.D. including the Byzantine Empire, Islamic dynasties, and Asiatic peoples of the era. Over 800 contributors.
The Rise of the Medieval World, 500-1300 by Call Number: Main Library CT114.R57 2002ISBN: 0313308179"[O]ver 400 people whose contributions in literature, religion, philosophy, education, or politics influenced the development and culture of the Medieval world." Available in print and online (see link).
