General
-
British Museum Collections
The British museum's collections – among the largest and most comprehensive in the world – recall a time when their Empire controlled 24% of the world's land and 23% of its people. Although there are over two million records in the database it only covers about half of the collection.
-
Index of Medieval Art This link opens in a new window
The largest thematic archive of medieval iconography available, the Index reproduces works of art, arranged by subject, from the 1st c. through around 1550 CE. Formerly the Index of Christian Art, the Index now includes secular subjects and a growing number from medieval Jewish and Islamic culture.
-
JSTOR images (formerly Artstor)
High quality images of the fine arts (painting, sculpture, printmaking, and drawing), photography, architecture and new media including Film, Audio, Video, Performance Art and Digital Art
Architecture
-
Cathedrals & Monastic Buildings in the British Isles
Call Number: Art Library NA5461.C165 pt.1-11Publication Date: 1976-84This series publishes works of sculpture and architecture in the public domain drawn from the photographic collections in the Witt and Conway Libraries of the Courtauld Institute, London.
-
Chartres Cathedral Image Collection
"Chartres Cathedral is among the best preserved of the major French cathedrals, with extensive programs of sculpture and stained glass. It was a major site of pilgrimage in honor of the Virgin Mary, to whom the cathedral is dedicated." .... "This website provides access to a comprehensive collection of images and detailed descriptions of Chartres Cathedral."
Sculpture (Including Metalwork and Ivories)
-
Die Elfenbeinskulpturen by
Call Number: Art Flat 736G572 vol.1-4Publication Date: 1914This multi-volume work, a corpus of medieval ivories, contains many black and white reproductions throughout. -
Émaux méridionaux: catalogue international de l'œuvre de Limoges
by
Call Number: Art Oversize NK5004.F8 G38 1987 t. 1-2Publication Date: 1987Extensive corpus of medieval enamels. -
The Golden Age of Ivory
by
Call Number: Art Library NK5875 .R35 1993ISBN: 1555950760Publication Date: 1993Definitive illustrated catalogue: every medieval ivory in America. Companion volume to: Masterpieces of ivory from the Walters Art Gallery (Art NK 5810.B3 W34 1985), a catalog of the Walter's ivory collection.
-
Gothic Ivories ProjectOver 2,800 images (in 2012) of Gothic Ivory objects. "The Gothic Ivories Project, launched at the Courtauld Institute in October 2008, is an electronic catalogue bringing together images and information about Gothic ivories now scattered in collections around the world." Images are added regularly, and the project will ultimately contain images of 3500/4000 objects.
-
Gothic Sculpture in American Collections
by
Call Number: Art Library NB180.G6 1989 vol.1-3ISBN: 0824084624Publication Date: 1989An ambitious series which, when completed, will list all Gothic sculpture in American museums. An index provides access by artist or originating culture. -
Les ivoires gothiques français
by
Call Number: Art Limited Access Regular 736K818I vol.1-2; Art Limited Access Regular 736K818I platesPublication Date: 1924Volume 1 discusses different types of ivories and gives their date and provenance. Volume 2 is a catalog of images. Both religious and secular ivories are included. -
Romanesque Sculpture in American Collections
by
Call Number: Art Library NB175.C33 vol. 1-2ISBN: 0891021310Publication Date: 1979 -
Romanesque sculpture of the pilgrimage roads
by
Call Number: Art Library 734 P833 vol.1 c.2 - vol.10 c.2Publication Date: 1923Beginning with 11th century examples, this multi-volume text provides in-depth descriptions of Romanesque sculpture along the pilgrimage route through France, Spain and Italy. Many volumes contain black and white reproductions.