Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Searching museum collections is one way to find comparable objects. These museums have strong collections in African Art.
The Art Institute of Chicago
The arts of Africa collection contains over 500 works of art from the 11th through the 20th century. The collection is particularly strong in wood carvings from West and Central Africa.
Baltimore Museum of Art
The BMA has one of the earliest and most important collections of African art in the United States. Featuring more than 2,000 objects that span from ancient Egypt to contemporary Zimbabwe, the collection includes works from more than 200 African cultures in a full range of media.
Brooklyn Museum of Art
Numbering approximately 4,500 works, from 200 C.E. to today, the Arts of Africa collection at the Brooklyn Museum of Art is one of the most important of its kind in a U.S. art museum. Representing approximately 400 peoples and thirty-one countries, it has particular strengths in art from the Democratic Republic of Congo, Nigeria, and Ghana.
Cleveland Museum of Art
The African art collection at the Cleveland Museum of Art contains about 480 works. The collection's focus is on masks and figures from West and Central Africa, mostly carved in wood.
Dallas Museum of Art
The Dallas Museum of Art website lists approximately 450 objects with images.
Detroit Institute of Arts
A large collection of African Art.
Fowler Museum, UCLA
Almost 800 objects with images are available for viewing.
Eskenazi Museum of Art, Indiana University Bloomington
Browse almost 150 images of objects in the African Art collection.
Indianapolis Museum of Art, African Art
Of the over 1,600 objects in the museum several hundred have images online.
Metropolitan Museum of Art, NY, NY
Search the collections of the largest museum in the United States. The Met's collections are encyclopedic and cover art worldwide.
Seattle Art Museum, African Art
Department of African and Oceanic art has over 2,000 images online.
University of Iowa Museum of Art
A rich collection of objects from African and the museum that supports the online encyclopedia Art and Life in Africa.
Eliot Elision Photographic Archives
Eliot Elisofon (1911-1973), an internationally known photographer and filmmaker, created a visual record of African life from 1947 to 1973. His archive is a research and reference center with over 300,000 still photographic images documenting the arts, peoples and history of Africa over the past 120 years.
Aluka: Earthen Architecture of Mali, Morocco, and Egypt
Nearly 1,000 images of earthen architecture in Mali, Morocco, and Egypt.
Auction houses provide images of works sold, or for sale: