Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Major museums with East Asian collections
Asian Art Museum of San Francisco
One of the largest museums in the Western world devoted exclusively to Asian art.
Masterworks of Chinese Art (Cleveland Museum of Art)
An excellent East Asian collection within an easy drive of Oberlin. Many objects are also on their website. The Chinese collection is renowned.
Freer Gallery of Art and Arthur M. Sackler Gallery
Part of the Smithsonian Institution in Washington, DC these museums collect art from East Asia, South Asia, Southeast Asia, the Islamic world, the ancient Neat East, and ancient Egypt.
Honolulu Museum of Art
Hawaii’s largest private presenter of visual arts programs, boasting a permanent collection of over 40,000 works of art from cultures around the world and perhaps most well known for its collection of Asian art, especially Japanese and Chinese works.
Los Angeles Country Museum of Art
A multi-building complex with collections from around the world. The Hammer Building houses the Chinese and Korean collections and the Pavilion for Japanese Art displays the Shin'enkan collection donated by Joe D. Price.
Metropolitan Museum of Art, NY, NY
Search the collections of the largest museum in the United States. The Met's collections are encyclopedic and cover art worldwide.
Minneapolis Institute of Arts
The collection of Asian art represents 17 Asian cultures spanning nearly 5,000 years.
Museum of Fine Arts Boston, Chinese Art
One of the largest museums in the United States with an extensive collection of Chinese art and the largest museum collection of Japanese works under one roof in the world outside of Japan.
The Nelson-Atkins Museum of Art
An encyclopedic museum with particular strength in Asian art.
Seattle Art Museum, Chinese Art
The Asian Art Museum in Seattle is a division of the Seattle Art Museum. They recently published a catalog for the Chinese Painting & Calligraphy portion of the collection.
British Museum Collections
The British museum's collections – among the largest and most comprehensive in the world – recall a time when their Empire controlled 24% of the world's land and 23% of its people.
The collection database is derived from staff collection data so it is full of specialized terms, abbreviations and shorthand as well as words and concepts now recognized as offensive. (There is a link to report offensive language.) Although there are over two million records in the database it only covers about half of the collection.
Major East Asian Libraries
Useful for identifying relevant titles. Then search for those titles in OBIS, OhioLINK or request them via ILL (Interlibrary Loan).
Library Catalog, Ingalls Library, Cleveland Museum of Art
Large collection of books and journals for researching East Asian art and monuments.
Library Catalog, The Freer Gallery of Art, Washington, D. C.
One of the finest Asian libraries in the United States, their catalog includes titles acquired after 1987 as well as about one third of the collection acquired before that date. The Freer Library catalog is part of the larger Smithsonian Libraries Catalog. Searches can be limited to the Freer Library collection.
WorldCat, Dublin, Ohio
Catalog of the books, journals, etc. held by almost every public, research and academic library in North America, as well as some European library.
Catalogs from major museums
Ancient Chinese bronzes in the Arthur M. Sackler collections by
Call Number: Art Library Oversize, NK 7983.2 .A54 1987 vol. 1 - 3
A comprehensive introduction and thorough treatment of the topic. Includes casting technology, epigraphy, vessel typology, and provincial bronze styles and dating. Color plates of all the Sackler bronzes are supplemented by rubbings, details, and many illustrations.