It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The first half of the twentieth century began with the demise of China’s last imperial dynasty, the Great Qing, and ended with the foundation of the People’s Republic of China in October 1949. Following the 1912 establishment of China’s first post-imperial government, the Republic of China, the country experienced both industrial and social revolution, a civil war during which communist and nationalist forces battled to shape the country’s future, and looming external threats during both world wars.
Translations and transcripts of news stories from non-U.S. media sources including newspaper articles, conference proceedings, television and radio broadcasts, periodicals, and non-classified technical reports. Coverage focuses on socioeconomic, political, scientific, technical, and environmental issues and events. Dates of Coverage: 1995 - 2013
Indexes 350 art magazines and journals covering pre-historic to contemporary art. Some full text from 1995-date. For earlier dates search its companion database the Art Index Retrospective. Searching both databases simultaneously for publications dated 1929 to the present. Both databases index the Allen Memorial Art Museum Bulletin.
Hawaii’s largest private presenter of visual arts programs, boasting a permanent collection of over 40,000 works of art from cultures around the world and perhaps most well known for its collection of Asian art, especially Japanese and Chinese works.
A multi-building complex with collections from around the world. The Hammer Building houses the Chinese and Korean collections and the Pavilion for Japanese Art displays the Shin'enkan collection donated by Joe D. Price.
The British museum's collections – among the largest and most comprehensive in the world – recall a time when their Empire controlled 24% of the world's land and 23% of its people.
The collection database is derived from staff collection data so it is full of specialized terms, abbreviations and shorthand as well as words and concepts now recognized as offensive. (There is a link to report offensive language.) Although there are over two million records in the database it only covers about half of the collection.
Highly regarded and controversial objects include The Rosetta Stone and the "Elgin marbles": Classical Greek statuary taken from the Acropolis in Athens by Lord Elgin in the early 19th c.
The collection's strengths -- which are extensive and remarkable – fall into the following departments, which also reveal its overall cultural and historical approach:
• Africa, Oceania and the Americas (around 350,000 objects)
• Ancient and contemporary civilizations and cultures of the Middle East
• Ancient Egypt and Sudan (10,000 BCE to 12th c. CE)
• Britain, Europe and Prehistory
• Coins and Medals (one of the world's finest numismatic collections)
• Greece and Rome and the Ancient Mediterranean
• Material and visual cultures of Asia
• One of the world's greatest collections of prints and drawings
The Asia Art Archive conducts focused research projects, gathering primary source materials including photographs, video, ephemera and more. SInce 2010 they have been digitizing significant resources and making them available via their collections link on their web site. Asia is broadly defined to include, for example, the Arab World, Central and South Asia. Use this site to search for scanned documents re: a specific artist or institution in Asia.
An online digital collection that documents the activity of Oberlinians in Asia from the 1880s to the 1950s. It contains materials from the Oberlin Shansi Memorial Association Records and personal paper collections, and it represents a small percentage of the total amount of materials in the College Archives that relate to the work of missionaries and Shansi Representatives in China and as well as other countries.
Major East Asian Libraries
Useful for identifying relevant titles. Then search for those titles in OBIS, OhioLINK or request them via ILL (Interlibrary Loan).
One of the finest Asian libraries in the United States, the Freer catalog includes titles acquired after 1987 as well as about one third of the collection acquired before that date. Part of the larger Smithsonian Libraries Catalog, you must "Limit" searches to the "Freer Sackler Gallery Library".
Over 4,700 artists from antiquity to the present from the Benezit Dictionary of Artists (2006). Most are from East Asia, particularly Japan and China. Entries include concise narratives of artists’ careers, bibliographies, exhibition histories, and collection holdings.