Following is the standard bibliography and databases used to research Islamic art and architecture:
Bibliography of the Architecture, Arts and Crafts of Islam by Call Number: Art Library, Reference Z5961 .I8 C7 (1961, 1973 & 1984)ISBN: 9774240529Creswell's bibliography indexes publications dated from 1912 through 1980, a period missed by most databases. Entries are arranged by Media and Regions.
- Archnet. Aga Khan Program for Islamic Architecture.
Gathers in one place the wealth of scholarly knowledge and resources generated by the Aga Khan Program for Islamic Architecture, this site features a digital library with photographs, plans and descriptions of hundreds of buildings and sites, digitized journal articles, reference tools and other publications.
- Art Full Text (1984 to date) This link opens in a new windowIndexes 350 art magazines and journals covering pre-historic to contemporary art. Some full text from 1995-date. For earlier dates search its companion database the Art Index Retrospective. Searching both databases simultaneously for publications dated 1929 to the present. Both databases index the Allen Memorial Art Museum Bulletin.
- ATLA Religion Database This link opens in a new windowComprehensive index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion. Also covers antiquities and archaeology, Bible, church history, ecumenism, ethics, missions, pastoral ministry, philosophy, religions and religious studies, theology. Dates of Coverage: 1949-to date
- Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals This link opens in a new windowIndexes architecture and related fields, from pre-historical to contemporary practice in 2,500+ international Journals. 1930s-date, with some titles indexed from 19th century.
- Index Islamicus This link opens in a new windowIncludes scholarship from various disciplines written about the Middle East, Muslim areas of Asia and Africa, and Muslim populations across the globe. Dates of Coverage: 1906 to date
- Middle Eastern and Central Asian Studies This link opens in a new windowIndexes research, policy, and scholarly publications on the countries and peoples of the Middle East, Central Asia, and North Africa. Subject coverage includes political and economic affairs, law, international relations, business, the arts, society, anthropology, religion, and history. Dates of coverage: 1900 and earlier to date
Important journals for researching Islamic art and architecture:
Ars Islamica (1934-1951) and its successor Ars Orientalis (1954 - present)
An important journal for the arts of Asia and the Islamic World.
Available online from the National Museum of Asian Art
Kunst des Orients (1950-1978)
Although published in Germany many of the articles are in English. Ceased in 1978
Available from JSTOR
Marg (1946 - present)
Art and architecture of India
Available online from June 1, 2007 to the present in Gale Literature Resource Center
Available online from Sept. 1, 2011 to the present in Art Full Text (H.W. Wilson)
Available in print in the Art Library for these years:
1951 (v. 4)
1954-1956 (v. 8 - v. 9, part 4)
1958-2003/04 (v. 12 - v. 43, no.1) and then (v.43, no.4 - v. 55). we are missing v.43 no. 2 & v.43 no. 3
Available online from June 1, 2007 to the present in Gale Literature Resource Center
Available online from Sept. 1, 2011 to the present in Art Full Text (H.W. Wilson)
Muqarnas (1983 - present)
Currently the most scholarly journal in the field. Published by the Aga Khan Program for Islamic Architecture at Harvard University.
Available online from 1983 - five years ago in JSTOR and EBSCOhost AtlaSerials, Religion Collection
Available in print from 1983 to the present in the Art Library. Call number: N6260 . M83