What is a Scholarly Article?
Both scholarly and peer-reviewed articles are written by experts in academic or professional fields. Scholarly articles are published in journals for specific academic disciplines. Many scholarly journals are also peer-reviewed.
Peer-reviewed articles are submitted to reviewers who are experts in the field. Because the reviewers specialize in the same scholarly area as the author, they are considered the author’s peers (hence “peer review”).
Both scholarly and peer-reviewed articles are excellent places to find what has been studied or researched on a topic, as well as find references to additional relevant sources of information.
Databases
- Historical Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Index to thousands of academic journals covering world history (excluding the US and Canada) from 1450 to present, in over 40 languages, with full-text available. Dates of Coverage: 1955 to date
- Bibliography of Asian Studies (1971 to date) This link opens in a new window
Indexes English language articles on all aspects of East, Southeast, and South Asian culture.
- EBSEES: European Bibliography of Slavic and East European Studies (1991-2006) This link opens in a new window
Covers West European scholarship on Russia, the former Soviet Union, and East-Central and Eastern Europe. Dates of Coverage: 1991-2007
- Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index This link opens in a new window
Citations of journal articles, book reviews, and essays covering topics of gender and sexuality in Europe, North Africa, and the Middle East from 450 to 1500 AD. Dates of Coverage: 1990 to date
- History of Science, Technology, and Medicine This link opens in a new window
An international bibliography indexing journal articles, conference proceedings, books, dissertations, serials, maps and other materials Dates of coverage: 1975 to present
- Brepolis Medieval and Early Modern Bibliographies This link opens in a new window
Indexes international scholarship covering the Middle Ages in Europe, the Middle East, and North Africa.
Dates of Coverage: 1967 to date
Only 3 Oberlin users at one time. - IsisCB Explore This link opens in a new windowOpen access discovery service for history of science. Built on 40 years of data in the Isis Bibliography of the History of Science.
- Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance This link opens in a new windowIndexes academic journals covering the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700) primarily in Europe. Dates of Coverage: 1859 to date
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowScholarly journal archive for the humanities, social sciences and natural sciences; current issues (usually the last 2-5 years) are not digitized by JSTOR and may be obtained elsewhere.
- L' Année Philologique This link opens in a new window
Indexes articles in journals, books, and conference proceedings covering all aspects of classical studies. Historical coverage ranges from prehistory to the Middle Ages. Dates of Coverage: 1924 to date
Note: Only 2 simultaneous Oberlin users at one time.
Selected Publications
Finding Full Text
Many databases on the library's website include the full text of articles. Click on the PDF or HTML icon to download the article.
If full text is not available, click the Find It or 360 Link icons to see if there is access from another source.
Look for 
displayed for each item in the library's databases. In Google Scholar, look for Find Full Text @ Oberlin. Access via publisher websites is generally limited to subscribers.
Full text is not always accessible for immediate download. The 360 Link may lead to an intermediary page offering access through Interlibrary loan. If you have trouble, consult the library staff.