Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Africa Knowledge Project
Dedicated exclusively to academic research on Africa and its Diaspora, AKP focuses on critical Africa-centered, evidence-based knowledge and research from a diverse range of disciplines.
ATLA Religion Database
Comprehensive index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in all fields of religion. Also covers antiquities and archaeology, Bible, church history, ecumenism, ethics, missions, pastoral ministry, philosophy, religions and religious studies, theology. Dates of Coverage: 1949-to date
Index to thousands of academic journals covering world history (excluding the US and Canada) from 1450 to present, in over 40 languages, with full-text available. Dates of Coverage: 1955 to date
Includes scholarship from various disciplines written about the Middle East, Muslim areas of Asia and Africa, and Muslim populations across the globe. Dates of Coverage: 1906 to date
Index to Jewish Periodicals
Indexes English-language articles, book reviews, and feature stories in more than 230 journals devoted to Jewish affairs. Covers Jewish and Middle Eastern culture, literature, history, politics, religion, and other areas of study. Dates of Coverage: 1988 to date
Middle Eastern and Central Asian Studies
Indexes research, policy, and scholarly publications on the countries and peoples of the Middle East, Central Asia, and North Africa. Subject coverage includes political and economic affairs, law, international relations, business, the arts, society, anthropology, religion, and history. Dates of coverage: 1900 and earlier to date
PAIS Index (Public Affairs Information Service)
Covers all aspects of U.S. public policy and international affairs. Includes references to journal articles, books, government documents, grey literature, research reports and documents by NGOs, conference papers, and statistical reports. Dates of Coverage: 1915 to date
RAMBI: The Index of Articles on Jewish Studies
Includes scholarly articles in all disciplines from journals and collections of articles in English, Hebrew, Yiddish, and many European languages. Covers the various fields of Jewish studies and the study of the Southern Levant (roughly Israel, Palestinian territories, Jordan, and parts of Lebanon). Dates of Coverage: 1966 to date
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
Articles, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, and conference proceedings in all fields of political science, including international relations, international law, and public administration and policy. Dates of Coverage: 1975--
What is a Scholarly Article?
Both scholarly and peer-reviewed articles are written by experts in academic or professional fields. Scholarly articles are published in journals for specific academic disciplines. Many scholarly journals are also peer-reviewed.
Peer-reviewed articles are submitted to reviewers who are experts in the field. Because the reviewers specialize in the same scholarly area as the author, they are considered the author’s peers (hence “peer review”).
Both scholarly and peer-reviewed articles are excellent places to find what has been studied or researched on a topic, as well as find references to additional relevant sources of information.
Journal of African American Studies
The Journal of African American Studies examines topics concerning social transformations that impact the life chances of continental Africans and the African diaspora. It publishes original research on issues of professional and disciplinary concern for the social progress of people of African descent. The journal features empirical, methodological, and theoretical papers as well as literary criticism. It covers the full spectrum of this interdisciplinary field, containing diverse methods and perspectives that include anthropology, art, economics, law, literature, management science, political science, psychology, sociology, social policy research, and others.
Journal of Black Studies
Journal of Black Studies is a bimonthly peer-reviewed academic journal that publishes papers in the fields of social sciences and ethnic studies concerning African-American culture. The journal's editors-in-chief are Molefi Kete Asante (Temple University) and Ama Mazama (Temple University). The journal was established in 1970 and is currently published by SAGE Publications.