LibGuides: Astronomy: Home

Best Journal Article Database

Inspec is the most comprehensive journal article source for astronomy and physics research combined.
Web of Science is a good alternative, especially for interdisciplinary topics.

Other Important Databases

Annual Reviews
Indepth articles that synthesize and integrate knowledge for the progress of science and the benefit of society.
more...less...
Articles have extensive lists of cited references; excellent for finding other review and primary sources.
arXiv
An open-access archive for 1,683,615+ scholarly articles in the fields of physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, statistics, electrical engineering and systems science, and economics.
more...less...
arXiv is a collaboratively funded, community-supported resource founded by Paul Ginsparg in 1991 and maintained and operated by Cornell University.
Astrophysics Data System: SAO/NASA ADS
ADS, a digital library portal for researchers in astronomy and physics, operated by the Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory (SAO) under a NASA grant.
more...less...
ADS now has agreements with almost all astronomical journals, who supply abstracts. Scanned articles from as far back as the early 19th century are available via the service, which now contains over eight million documents. Articles are intended for personal use only, in compliance with Copyright law.
SIMBAD Astronomical Database
Purpose: to provide information on astronomical objects of interest which have been studied in scientific articles.
more...less...
Provides basic data, cross-identifications, bibliography and measurements for astronomical objects outside the solar system.

Librarian / Research Help

Contact:Eboni A. Johnson (she/her/hers)
Oberlin College Science Center
ejohnson@oberlin.edu
440-775-5146

Subject expert for:
Astronomy, Biology, Chemistry,
Environmental Studies,
Geosciences, Mathematics,
Medicine & Health,
Neuroscience, Physics,
Science & Technology