LibGuides: Astronomy: Articles

Preprint Servers and Data

arXiv
An open-access archive for 1,683,615+ scholarly articles in the fields of physics, mathematics, computer science, quantitative biology, quantitative finance, statistics, electrical engineering and systems science, and economics.
more...less...
arXiv is a collaboratively funded, community-supported resource founded by Paul Ginsparg in 1991 and maintained and operated by Cornell University.
Astrophysics Data System: SAO/NASA ADS
ADS, a digital library portal for researchers in astronomy and physics, operated by the Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory (SAO) under a NASA grant.
more...less...
ADS now has agreements with almost all astronomical journals, who supply abstracts. Scanned articles from as far back as the early 19th century are available via the service, which now contains over eight million documents. Articles are intended for personal use only, in compliance with Copyright law.

Important Journals

Astronomical Journal
Publishes original research with an emphasis on scientific results derived from observations.
Astrophysical Journal
Devoted to recent developments, discoveries, and theories in astronomy and astrophysics.
Science
Published weekly by the American Association for the Advancement of Science. Current issues are received in print. The archived issues are also available at JSTOR: https://www.jstor.org/journal/science
Sky & Telescope
A popular astronomy magazine from the Sky Publishing Corporation.
Space Daily
Space News from SpaceDaily.Com brings the space industry professional daily news from the frontier, with contract, bid, launch and on-orbit satellite news to the general public.

Journal Finder

We have access to tens of thousands of journals online. Link to them from Journal Finder.

Journal Finder also indicates if we receive or own the journal in print, and its physical location on campus.

Finding Full Text

Many databases on the library's website include the full text of articles. Click on the PDF or HTML icon to download the article.

If full text is not available, click the Find It or 360 Link icons to see if there is access from another source.

Look for displayed for each item in the library's databases. In Google Scholar, look for Find Full Text @ Oberlin. Access via publisher websites is generally limited to subscribers.

Full text is not always accessible for immediate download. The 360 Link may lead to an intermediary page offering access through Interlibrary loan. If you have trouble, consult the library staff.