Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Data Management and Data Sources
Data, tools, and resources to conduct research, develop web and mobile applications, and design data visualizations. Includes data on climate, education, energy, health, science, and more.+
Data analysis platform (requires purchase) that encourages looking at and understanding data from many different perspectives using linked graphs and statistical techniques both parametric and non-parametric.
Data Management Plan Requirements - National Science Foundation
Requirements for dissemination and sharing of research results when funded by the National Science Foundation.
Dryad Digital Repository (Datadryad.org)
A nonprofit repository for data underlying the international scientific and medical literature.
EarthChem: geochemical, geochronological, petrological data
Find and contribute data, develop a data management plan, use the EarthChem Portal to access complete data from multiple data systems operated by different providers. The portal returns integrated search results from the federated databases PetDB (IEDA), SedDB (IEDA), GEOROC (MPI Mainz, Germany), NavDat (IEDA), USGS, and DARWIN (JAMSTEC, Japan). The portal features mapping and visualization tools.
GEOROC: Geochemistry of Rocks of the Oceans and Continents
The database is a comprehensive collection of published analyses of igneous rocks (volcanic rocks, plutonic rocks, and mantle xenoliths). It contains major and trace element concentrations, radiogenic and nonradiogenic isotope ratios as well as analytical ages for whole rocks, glasses, minerals and inclusions.
A collaborative platform for geological data exploration and integration.
Mindat : mineral database
The world's largest open database of minerals, rocks, meteorites and the localities they come from; run by the not-for-profit Hudson Institute of Mineralogy.
Mineral Resources Online Spatial Data
USGS mapping of mineral deposits worldwide.
NOAA Paleoclimatology Data
From the National Centers for Environmental Information (NCEI) of the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration
RRUFF Project: mineralogy data
An integrated database of Raman spectra, X-ray diffraction and chemistry data for minerals.