Audio
- Naxos Spoken Word Library This link opens in a new windowContains the world's greatest literature - many classic novels, plays and poetry, from medieval times to the twenty-first century under various categories, such as Children's Classics, Classic Fiction, Shakespeare's Plays. New titles are added every month.
- LIbriVoxLibriVox volunteers record chapters of books in the public domain and release the audio files back onto the net. Their goal is to make all public domain books available as free audio books.
News & Newspapers
- African American Newspapers (1827-1998): Series 1 This link opens in a new window
Provides online access to hundreds of historical U.S. newspapers chronicling the African American experience. Series 1 includes titles from the Wisconsin Historical Society, Kansas State Historical Society and the Library of Congress. Dates of Coverage: 1827-1998
- African American Periodicals (1825-1995) This link opens in a new windowMore than 170 periodicals by and about African Americans, published in 26 states. Includes academic and political journals, commercial magazines, institutional newsletters, bulletins, annual reports and more.
- British Library Newspapers (OhioLINK Access) This link opens in a new window
National and regional English, Scottish, Irish and Welsh. Stengths include coverage include political and social movements such as Reform, Chartism, and Home Rule, and penny papers aimed at the working and clerical classes. Dates of Coverage: 1800s. Part of Gale Primary Sources.
Digitized Books
- American Verse Projecta collaborative project between the University of Michigan Humanities Text Initiative (HTI) and the University of Michigan Press. The project is assembling an electronic archive of volumes of American poetry prior to 1920.
- America's Historical Imprints This link opens in a new window
Full-text, searchable scans of source material of all types from the 17th and 18th centuries; an important resource for primary information about every aspect of life in 17th- and 18th-century America.
- Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker (1801-1819) This link opens in a new window
Primary source matierial of all types documenting American history from 1801-1819.
- Early English Books Online This link opens in a new windowSearchable scans of nearly all existing English books up to the year 1700; this collection now contains over 100,000 of over 125,000 titles listed in Pollard Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640) and Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700) and their revised editions, as well as the Thomason Tracts (1640-1661) collection and the Early English Books Tract Supplement. Dates of Coverage: 1473-1700
- Eighteenth Century Collections Online (OhioLINK Access) This link opens in a new window
Scans of over 200,000 volumes published in English (mainly in the UK) in the 18th century, based on the English Short Title Catalogue. Dates of Coverage: 1701 to 1800. Part of Gale Primary Sources.
- English Short Title Catalogue This link opens in a new windowEnglish Short Title Catalogue is drawn from the extensive collections of the British Library and over 2,000 other libraries. The English Short Title Catalogue (ESTC) lists over 460,000 items published mainly in the British Isles and North America between 1473 and 1800. Items listed are mainly, but not exclusively, in English. Dates of Coverage: 1473-1800
- Project GutenbergA volunteer effort to digitize and archive cultural works. Most of the items in its collection are the full texts of public domain books. The project tries to make these as free as possible, in long-lasting, open formats that an be used on almost any computer.
- Victorian Women Writer's ProjectAn Indiana University project primarily concerned with the exposure of lesser-known British women writers of the 19th century. The collection represents an array of genres - poetry, novels, children's books, political pamphlets, religious tracts, histories, and more. VWWP contains scores of authors, both prolific and rare.
- Women Writers Online This link opens in a new windowA full-text collection of early womens' writing in English, published between 1526 and 1850, focusing on rare texts; wide range of topic and genres included.
- Wright American FictionAttempts to include every novel published in the United States from 1851 to 1875. It includes works by well known writers such as Louisa May Alcott, Mark Twain, Nathaniel Hawthorne, Herman Melville, and Harriet Beecher Stowe, along with a great many forgotten authors, whose works may have been very popular in their own time.