Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Hundreds of dictionaries, general reference, language reference, and subject reference works from Oxford University Press.
Authoritative and comprehensive English bilingual dictionaries online for French, German, Italian, and Russian.
Concise Oxford-Duden German Dictionary by
Publication Date: 2005-07-21
Coverage of over 150,000 words and phrases, and 250,000 translations. Also includes a comprehensive correspondence guide with sample letters, emails, and CVs, a spread on text messaging in German, notes on life and culture in the German-speaking world, and in-text boxed notes on language usage and construction.
Transparent Language Online
A web-based language-learning database with over 100 languages currently offered including French, German, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Russian, Spanish and Mandarin Chinese. There’s also an ESL component that provides English language learning to speakers of over 25 different languages.
Note: Requires the creation of an individual account to use.
Encyclopedias, Guides & Historical Dictionaries
The Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory and Criticism by
Publication Date: 2004-11-03
While concentrating on the explosion of contemporary critical and theoretical works, the Guide presents a comprehensive historical survey of ideas and individuals ranging from Plato and Aristotle to twentieth-century scholars.
Historical Dictionary of German Cinema by
Call Number: Main Library PN1993.5.G3 R417 2008
Publication Date: 2008-02-06
Covers mainstream, alternative, and experimental film from 1895 to the present through a chronology, introductory essay, appendix of the 100 most significant German films, a bibliography, and hundreds of cross-referenced dictionary entries.