Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Handbooks & Guides
ACRL Primer for Protecting Sensitive Data in Academic Research
This primer provides a quick grounding in the whats, whys, and hows of current regulations and practices for protecting sensitive data. It is based on work created in the Netherlands for the General Data Protection Regulation in EU law, but brought into the United States context.
Changing the Curve: Women in Computing
In this infographic, datascience@berkeley explores the history and influence of women in computing, looking at some big names throughout the ages and then reviewing some sobering statistics about the current state of women in technology.
Data Management & Curation, ICPSR: Tools and Services
Guidelines for effective data management plans; Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research
Data Management Plan Templates
From University of Virginia Libraries Research Data Services + Sciences. Includes templates for DOE, NIH, NSF, HHS, NEH, DOT, DOC, and others, covering all areas of natural and social sciences. See also DMPTool for many publicly shared Data Management Plans in various research areas.
DMPtool, California Digital Library
Guidelines, templates, examples of data management plans; University of California Curation Center of the California Digital Library.
Guide for Women in STEM
From Discover Data Science, to provide prospective data science students with accurate and expert-driven information about data science, business analytics and intelligence, and associated fields. STEM=Science, Technology, Engineering, Mathematics/Medicine
NSF Data Management Plan Requirements
Listing of requirements for each NSF directorate or unit, to be followed when submitting a research proposal to the National Science Foundation.
Open Science Framework
Project management tool that supports the entire research life cycle: from planning to discovery. You can upload files, invite collaborators, edit common documents, and more. Free. Sponsor: Center for Open Science, Charlottesville, VA.
Directories & Websites
Discover Data Science (DDS)
A comprehensive resource that provides information about data science bootcamps and certificate programs, as well as undergraduate and graduate degree offerings.
Research Data Curation Bibliography
Includes over 750 English-language works (2009-2017) about research data creation, acquisition, metadata, provenance, repositories, management, policies, support services, funding agency requirements, open access, peer review, publication, citation, sharing, reuse, and preservation. Includes links and, for CC BY and public domain works, abstracts. Licensed under CC BY 4.0.