Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Hundreds of dictionaries, general reference, language reference, and subject reference works from Oxford University Press.
Very Short Introductions
Provides concise introductions to a diverse range of subjects, written by experts in the field who combine facts, analysis, new ideas, and enthusiasm to make challenging topics highly readable. Subject categories include: Arts and humanities, Law, Medicine and health, Science and mathematics, Social sciences.
Learning Greek and Latin
Transparent Language Online
A web-based language-learning database with over 100 languages currently offered including French, German, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Russian, Spanish and Mandarin Chinese. There’s also an ESL component that provides English language learning to speakers of over 25 different languages.
Note: Requires the creation of an individual account to use.
Selected Very Short Introductions
Classical literature : a very short introduction by
Publication Date: 2014
This volume provides a concise and lively guide to the major authors, genres, and periods of classical literature. Drawing upon a wealth of material, it reveals just what makes the 'classics' such masterpieces and why they continue to influence and fascinate today.
Ancient Greece : a very short introduction by
Publication Date: 2011
This volume provides an introduction to the history of Ancient Greek civilization, from the first documented use of the Greek language in about 1400 BCE, through the glories of the classical and Hellenistic periods, to the foundation of the Byzantine empire in about CE 330
The Roman Empire : a very short introduction by
Publication Date: 2006
The Roman Empire was a remarkable achievement. This introduction covers the history of the empire at its height, looking at its people, religions and social structures. It explains how it deployed violence, 'romanisation', and tactical power to develop an astonishingly uniform culture from Rome to its furthest outreaches
Late Antiquity : a very short introduction by
Publication Date: 2011
Late antiquity is the period (c.300 - c.800) in which barbarian invasions ended Roman Empire in Western Europe by the fifth century and Arab invasions ended Roman rule over the eastern and southern Mediterranean coasts by the seventh century. Asking 'what, where, and when' Gillian Clark presents an introduction to the concept of late antiquity and the events of its time. Not only a period of cultural clashes, political restructurings, and geographical controversies, Clark also demonstrates the sheer richness and diversity of religious life as well as the significant changes to trade, economy, archaeology, and towns.
Classical Studies Resources from Oxford UP
Brill's New Pauly by
Call Number: DE5 .N3513 2002
Publication Date: 2011-05-10
Brill s New Pauly is the first lexicographic project that both differentiates between Greco-Roman antiquity itself and its subsequent images, and demonstrates the close connection between antiquity and its aftermath. Volumes 1 to 15 (Antiquity) are devoted to Greco-Roman antiquity. Volumes I to V (Classical Tradition) are uniquely concerned with the long and influential aftermath of the classical heritage. Index Antiquity relates to the 15 volumes of Brill s New Pauly that deal with Antiquity. Index The Classical Tradition, relates to the 5 volumes of Brill s New Pauly that deal with the Classical Tradition.
Encyclopaedia of the Ancient World by
Call Number: DE5 .P33213 2006
Publication Date: 2006-08-01
BRILL'S NEW PAULY is the English edition of the authoritative DER NEUE PAULY, published by Verlag J.B. Metzler since 1996. The encyclopaedic coverage and high academic standard of the work, the interdisciplinary and contemporary approach and clear and accessible presentation have made the NEW PAULY the unrivalled modern reference work for the ancient world.Fifteen volumes (Antiquity, 1-15) of BRILL'S NEW PAULY are devoted to Greco-Roman antiquity and cover more than two thousand years of history, ranging from the second millennium BC to early medieval Europe. Special emphasis is given to the interaction between Greco-Roman culture on the one hand, and Semitic, Celtic, Germanic, and Slavonic culture, and ancient Judaism, Christianity, and Islam on the other hand.Five volumes (Classical Tradition, I-V) are uniquely concerned with the long and influential aftermath of antiquity and the process of continuous reinterpretation and revaluation of the ancient heritage, including the history of classical scholarship.BRILL'S NEW PAULY presents the current state of traditional and new areas of research and brings together specialist knowledge from leading scholars from all over the world. Many entries are elucidated with maps and illustrations and the English edition will include updated bibliographic references.
The Oxford encyclopedia of ancient Greece and Rome by
Publication Date: 2010
This is an accessible guide and a comprehensive overview of the major cultures of the classical Mediterranean world from the Bronze Age to the fifth century CE. It also covers the legacy of the classical world and its interpretation and influence in subsequentical world centuries