Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Subjects that are useful for finding primary sources related to World War II:
- World War, 1939-1945
- Personal narrative
Digital Primary Source Collections
Tips for searching primary source collections:
- Think about the language of sources you hope to find. What are keywords for your topic from that language?
- How did people refer to events at the time? For example, some contemporary news sources called "World War II" simply "the war," while it was ongoing.
Gale Primary Sources
Topically focused collections of historical documents. Includes the collection "Conditions & Politics in Occupied Western Europe, 1940-1945."
Los Angeles Times (1881-1996)
Search for keywords or browse images of complete pages by date.
Japan Times (1897-2019)
Full text of all issues of this historically important newspaper covering the years 1897-2015. Japan Times is Japan's oldest English-language newspaper and the country's only independent English-language newspaper today.
New York Times (1851-2016)
Search by keywords or browse images of full pages by date.
OhioLINK Library Catalog
OhioLINK Library Catalog is a combined catalog of over 7.8 million books and other library materials from many of Ohio's universities, colleges, community colleges and the State Library of Ohio. OhioLINK's design allows you to transfer a search from your local library catalog to the OhioLINK combined catalog with the touch of a button. The OhioLINK catalog provides immediate access to the library holdings of the whole system, including current availability status. Requested books and other materials are delivered to your library within a few days. Catalog entries for electronic books and journals link directly to those resources.
Recollections of World War II
In the United Kingdom, thousands of people have recorded their memories of the War. Recollections of WWII aims promote their stories through providing researchers with a unique directory of oral history collections relating to the Second World War.
World War II Newsmaps
The U.S. War Department published Newsmaps throughout the second World War. During most of the war, Newsmaps typically featured maps of the world and of local areas seeing fighting, brief summaries of military action during the week, and photographs of troops and material.
World War II: The People's War (BBC)
47,000 pieces of written testimony about individual's experiences in World War II. To find information about a particular topic or person not addressed in the subject categorizations available on the website, use google advanced search to search your keyword and site:http://www.bbc.co.uk/history/ww2peopleswar/stories
Zasshi kiji sakuin shusei detabesu
Complete database for Japanese magazines and periodicals from the Meiji era to the present. Index to periodical articles published in Japanese, including those in former Japanese colonies, and local periodicals not present in many other indexes. Coverage is from 1868 onwards.