Encylcopedias & Dictionaries Online
- Gale Literature This link opens in a new windowFull-text database that includes author biographies and work overviews, literary criticism, and indexed books, essays, and articles on world literature, and well as full-text of poems, short stories, novels, essays, speeches and plays.
- Gale Virtual Reference Library This link opens in a new windowHandbooks, dictionaries, encyclopedias in a wide range of subject areas, including Arts, Biography, Business, Education, Environment, History, Law, Literature, Medicine, Multicultural Studies, Nation and World, Religion, Science, and Social Sciences.
- Oxford Handbooks Online This link opens in a new window
An Oxford Handbook advances an original conception of the field through a definitive collection of essays, each of which provides a survey of the current state of scholarly debate and an original argument about the future direction of research.
Note: Oberlin users can access economics, politics, and free content only. - Oxford Reference This link opens in a new windowHundreds of dictionaries, general reference, language reference, and subject reference works from Oxford University Press.
- Sage Knowledge This link opens in a new windowDictionaries, encyclopedias, guides and handbooks from a range of social science fields.
Encyclopedias & Dictionaries in Print
Encyclopedia of Utopian Literature by Call Number: Main Ref PN56.U8 S66 1995ISBN: 0874367573Publication Date: 1995-06-30Offers brief summaries of utopian novels, discusses concepts related to utopias and dystopias, and offers profiles of utopian writers.
Historical Dictionary of Utopianism by Call Number: Main Library: HX806 .M626 2004ISBN: 0810849127Publication Date: 2004-03-15This Dictionary provides a wide range of coverage on a topic that has played a significant role in human society.
Historical Dictionary of Socialism by Call Number: Main Library HX17 .D63 1997ISBN: 0810833581Publication Date: 1997-01-28This dictionary offers a reliable, comprehensive introduction and guide to this contentious social movement and ideology.
Historical Dictionary of Marxism by Call Number: Main Library HX17 .W36 2007ISBN: 0810854589Publication Date: 2006-11-06Marxism, one of the few philosophies that turned into an effective movement, not so long ago was the official ideology in one form or another of much of humanity.
An Encyclopedic Dictionary of Marxism, Socialism, and Communism by Call Number: Main Library HX17.W54ISBN: 3110085887Publication Date: 1981-08-01
Oxford University Press - Bibliographies, Research Reviews, Reference
- Oxford Bibliographies This link opens in a new window
Authoritative guide to reliable peer-reviewed resources and scholarship in African Studies, Buddhism, Latin American Studies, Linguistics, Medieval Studies, Political Science, and Renaissance and Reformation. Bibliographies are selectively curated and annotated by expert academics and offer high-level overviews that provide non-experts with a point of entry into unfamiliar areas of study.
- Oxford Handbooks Online This link opens in a new windowAn Oxford Handbook advances an original conception of the field through a definitive collection of essays, each of which provides a survey of the current state of scholarly debate and an original argument about the future direction of research.
Note: Oberlin users can access economics, politics, and free content only. - Oxford Research Encyclopedias This link opens in a new window
Designed to be an authoritative resource of reference content in a wide array of academic fields, including the humanities, social sciences, and science.
- Oxford Reference This link opens in a new windowHundreds of dictionaries, general reference, language reference, and subject reference works from Oxford University Press.