Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Ancient World / Classical
European / British Empire / Global
Access millions of pages of primary source collections spanning content from the 15th-21st centuries. Note: Click on the "Collections" link at the top of the page, and choose the collection called "Age of Exploration."
Early English Books Online
Searchable scans of nearly all existing English books up to the year 1700; this collection now contains over 100,000 of over 125,000 titles listed in Pollard Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640) and Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700) and their revised editions, as well as the Thomason Tracts (1640-1661) collection and the Early English Books Tract Supplement. Dates of Coverage: 1473-1700
European Views of the Americas (1493-1750)
Based on the bibliography “European Americana: A Chronological Guide to Works Printed In Europe Relating to The Americas, 1493-1750” from the John Carter Brown Library.
Times of India (1861-current)
Offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue for the following titles: The Bombay times and journal of commerce (1838-1859), The Bombay times and standard (1860-1861), and The times of India (1861-current)
The Proceedings of The Old Bailey
Searchable edition of the largest body of texts detailing the lives of non-elite people ever published -- containing 197,745 criminal trials held at London's central criminal court.
America's Historical Newspapers (1690-1876)
Cover-to-cover reproductions of hundreds of historic newspapers, providing more than one million pages as full text searchable scanned page images.
America's Historical Imprints
Full-text, searchable scans of source material of all types from the 17th and 18th centuries; an important resource for primary information about every aspect of life in 17th- and 18th-century America.
Early Encounters in North America
Letters, diaries, memoirs and accounts of early encounters between Native Americans and peoples from Europe, as well as Latin America, Asia, and Africa.
ProQuest Congressional Publications
Information about and by U.S. Congress, including hearings, reports, documents, legislative histories, and the Congressional Record.
New York Times (1851-2016)
Search by keywords or browse images of full pages by date.
Books scanned by major research libraries. Complete, full-text view available for public domain books.
National Maritime Digital Library
The Digital Library’s mission is to collect, preserve and make accessible maritime resources in electronic format, thereby promoting maritime cultural heritage scholarship.
Mystic Seaport Library
Digital resources, including people (captains, crew, shipmasters, shipbuilders, artifacts, art, and photographs.