Architectural interiors
The Abrams Guide to Period Styles for Interiors by Call Number: Art Reference, NK 1860 .G87 2005ISBN: 0810959143Each style is color-coded with a concise overview, images of various interior furnishing and objects, a chart of characteristics (such as mood, colors, scale, textile types, etc.) with a typical color palette and fabric swatch.
The Elements of Design by Call Number: Art Reference, NK 750 .E48 2003ISBN: 0743222296An in depth visual survey of the design styles that have had the greatest impact on the decorative arts in the Western world. Over 3,000 prints, photographs, and line drawings, illustrate five centuries of the Western decorative arts tradition, including Renaissance, Baroque, Rococo, Regency, Gothic, Art Nouveau, Art Deco, Modernism, and the Space Age. Arranged chronologically, each chapter begins with a broad introduction to the era, summarizing its key style features followed by a close examination of individual objects, including ceramics, glass, silver and metalwork, furniture, and textiles.
The Elements of Style by Call Number: Art Library Reference, NA2850.E44 2012ISBN: 9781770850866Interior architectural details in British and American domestic architecture from 1485 to the present. Arranged by period ("Tudor and Jacobean", "Beyond Modern", etc.). Previous editions are available: Art Library, NA 2850.E44 1996 & NA 2850.E44 1991.
The Style Sourcebook by Call Number: Art Reference, NK 1705 .M56 2003ISBN: 1552977919An encyclopedia of interior design products useful for students of design. Includes 2,300 images of popular design styles. The history and influences of dominant design styles are organized chronologically from Medieval to the 21st century. The book is divided into six main sections: 1) Style Guide 2) Paints & Finishes 3) Fabrics 4) Tiles 5) Wallpapers 6) Flooring.
Also of Use
- British Pathe
British Pathé is considered to be the finest newsreel archive in the world and is a treasure trove of 85,000 films unrivalled in their historical and cultural significance. Spanning the years from 1896 to 1978, the collection includes footage from around the globe of major events, famous faces, fashion trends, travel, science and culture.
Useful OBIS subjects
Helpful subjects for finding architecture.
Architecture, domestic -- [country] -- [XXth] century
Vernacular architecture -- [country]
Dwellings -- [country]
Domestic architecture
A Field Guide to American Houses by Call Number: Art Library Reference, NA 7205 .M35 2013ISBN: 9781400043590Provides historical context, characteristic features, styles, and illustrations of typical American domestic architecture from the 17th century to the present. Chapters are arranged chronologically.
Encyclopedia of Vernacular Architecture of the World by Call Number: Art Library Reference, NA 208 .E53 1997 vol. 1 -3ISBN: 0521564220Vernacular, or traditional, architecture encompasses most of the buildings of the world. This encyclopedia is the first to show the remarkable diversity of the buildings constructed by everyday people in over a thousand cultures. As building traditions vary widely within some countries and extend across the political boundaries of others, the encyclopedia considers vernacular architecture within its cultural rather than its national contexts. Richly illustrated with photographs, line drawings and maps, the work is also supported by a glossary, a lexicon, and the largest bibliography on the subject ever published.
The Visual Dictionary of American Domestic Architecture by Call Number: Art Library Reference, NA 7205 .C27 1994ISBN: 0805026460Discusses the features associated with various types of American homes.
