General
- Library of Congress Digital Collections This link opens in a new windowGateway to the Library of Congress's vast resources of digitized American historical materials. Comprising more than 9 million items that document U.S. history and culture, the content is organized into more than 100 thematic collections.
- Wilson Center Digital ArchiveThe Digital Archive contains once-secret documents from governments all across the globe, uncovering new sources and providing fresh insights into the history of international relations and diplomacy. The Digital Archive is overseen by the Wilson Center's History and Public Policy Program and focuses on the interrelated histories of the Cold War, Korea, and Nuclear Proliferation.
Cold War
- Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports (1941-1996) This link opens in a new windowTranscripts of foreign broadcasts and news translated into English; features stories selected by U.S. intelligence agencies for the use of policymakers.
- Digital National Security Archive This link opens in a new windowCollections of declassified government documents covering world events, countries, and U.S. policy decisions from 20th and 21st centuries.
- Eastview Universal Databases This link opens in a new windowFull-text of Russian newspapers and English-language sources. Current Digest of the Chinese Press and Current Digest of the Russian Press.
World War II
- World War II NewsmapsThe U.S. War Department published Newsmaps throughout the second World War. During most of the war, Newsmaps typically featured maps of the world and of local areas seeing fighting, brief summaries of military action during the week, and photographs of troops and material.
- Die Reichstagsprotokolle 1918-1942Session Proceedings of the Reichstag from the Treaty of Versailles to the begin of World War II:
A digitization project of the Bayerische Staatsbibliothek
(1919-1939; German transcriptions)
NB: Protokolle des Reichstags (1867-1895) are also available.
Vietnam
- Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports (1941-1996) This link opens in a new windowTranscripts of foreign broadcasts and news translated into English; features stories selected by U.S. intelligence agencies for the use of policymakers.
- Digital National Security Archive This link opens in a new windowCollections of declassified government documents covering world events, countries, and U.S. policy decisions from 20th and 21st centuries.
OBIS
Subjects that are useful for finding primary sources:
- Personal narrative
- Sources
- Correspondence
- Archives
- Interviews
- Photographs
- Newspapers