Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
America's Historical Imprints
Full-text, searchable scans of source material of all types from the 17th and 18th centuries; an important resource for primary information about every aspect of life in 17th- and 18th-century America.
American Periodicals (1740-1940)
Scanned periodicals published between 1740 and 1940, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines and more.
America's Historical Newspapers (1690-1876)
Cover-to-cover reproductions of hundreds of historic newspapers, providing more than one million pages as full text searchable scanned page images.
American State Papers (1789-1838)
Legislative and executive branch documents from the first 14 U.S. congresses, including presidential speeches, treaties and more.
U.S. Congressional Serial Set, 1817-1994
Full-text reports and documents produced by the U.S. House and Senate, broad coverage of topics in American political and social history.
Early English Books Online
Searchable scans of nearly all existing English books up to the year 1700; this collection now contains over 100,000 of over 125,000 titles listed in Pollard Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640) and Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700) and their revised editions, as well as the Thomason Tracts (1640-1661) collection and the Early English Books Tract Supplement. Dates of Coverage: 1473-1700
A volunteer effort to digitize and archive cultural works. Most of the items in its collection are the full texts of public domain books. The project tries to make these as free as possible, in long-lasting, open formats that an be used on almost any computer.
Alex Catalogue of Electronic Texts
Collection of public domain and open access documents with focus on American and English literature as well as Western philosophy. Its purpose is to help facilitate a person's liberal arts education.