Documents and Photographs
- Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker (1801-1819) This link opens in a new window
Primary source matierial of all types documenting American history from 1801-1819.
- JSTOR Images This link opens in a new window
Over 1 million images selected to support research and reaching in art history from pre-historical to contemporary media.
- Indigenous Peoples of North America (OhioLINK Access) This link opens in a new window
Digital archive of diverse source material pertaining to the histories of Indigenous peoples and their intersections with European peoples in North America. Sources include manuscripts, monographs, newspapers, photographs, motion pictures, images of artwork, and more. Part of Gale Primary Sources.
- Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Full-text coverage of newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic, minority, and native press in America. Dates of Coverage: 1959 to date
- Kanopy This link opens in a new windowOnline videos include documentaries and feature films. Most films require a librarian to approve purchase before viewing. Further details on recent changes to Kanopy and a list of currently licensed Kanopy films are available on the Kanopy research guide.
- Political Extremism & Radicalism in the Twentieth Century (OhioLINK Access) This link opens in a new window
Political extremism and radicalism in the twentieth century is a compilation of rare and unique archival collections covering a wide range of fringe political movements. It offers a diverse mixture of materials, including periodicals, campaign propaganda, government records, oral histories, and various ephemera. Materials are primarily from the U.S., Britain, Europe, and Australia. Part of Gale Primary Sources.
Laws, Legislation, and Courts
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
A wide range of news, political, legal, and business information from thousands of sources, mostly full text. Includes newspapers, magazines, wire services, federal and state court opinions, federal and state statutes, federal regulations, and SEC filings. News information is updated daily and wire services several times daily.
- Hein Online - Law and Government This link opens in a new windowLegal periodicals, case law, foreign and international law, documents and treaties, U.S. federal government information.
- ProQuest Congressional Publications This link opens in a new windowInformation about and by U.S. Congress, including hearings, reports, documents, legislative histories, and the Congressional Record.
- National Congress of American IndiansNon-profit Native American advocacy organization working in a variety of areas, including voting rights.
- American State Papers (1789-1838) This link opens in a new windowLegislative and executive branch documents from the first 14 U.S. congresses, including presidential speeches, treaties and more.
News, Newspapers & Magazines
- Los Angeles Times (1881 - 1996) This link opens in a new window
Search for keywords or browse images of complete pages by date.
- Chronicling America: Historical American Newspapers This link opens in a new window
A collection of freely accessible historical American newspapers from all regions of the United States, developed by the Library of Congress. Dates of coverage: 1836-1922
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
A wide range of news, political, legal, and business information from thousands of sources, mostly full text. Includes newspapers, magazines, wire services, federal and state court opinions, federal and state statutes, federal regulations, and SEC filings. News information is updated daily and wire services several times daily.
- Factiva This link opens in a new window
Full-text global news sources, including newspapers, newswires, television and radio transcripts, numerous regional and industry publications, and images from Reuters, along with financial data including business ratios. Content comes from ~160 countries in 22 languages. Only 3 Oberlin users at one time.
- America's Historical Newspapers (1690-1876) This link opens in a new windowCover-to-cover reproductions of hundreds of historic newspapers, providing more than one million pages as full text searchable scanned page images.
- American Periodicals (1740-1940) This link opens in a new windowScanned periodicals published between 1740 and 1940, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines and more.
- Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Full-text coverage of newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic, minority, and native press in America. Dates of Coverage: 1959 to date
- HarpWeek This link opens in a new windowDigital scans of the pages of Harper's Weekly from the Civil War and Reconstruction eras, 1857-1871; providing information and insights on political, military and social issues and events prior to and during the Civil War. Includes news, editorials, stories, illustrations, book reviews, serialized novels, advertising and maps. Dates of Coverage: 1857-1871
OBIS
Subjects that are useful for finding primary sources:
- Personal narrative
- Sources
- Correspondence
- Archives
- Interviews
- Photographs
- Newspapers
- Maps