HIST 257: American West: Primary Sources

A collection of freely accessible historical American newspapers from all regions of the United States, developed by the Library of Congress. Dates of coverage: 1836-1963

Full-text coverage of newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic, minority, and native press in America. Dates of Coverage: 1959 to date

Searchable full text scans of Spanish, English and bilingual newspapers published in Hispanic communities in the United States.

Search for keywords or browse images of complete pages by date.

A wide range of news, political, legal, and business information from thousands of sources, mostly full text. Includes newspapers, magazines, wire services, federal and state court opinions, federal and state statutes, federal regulations, and SEC filings. News information is updated daily and wire services several times daily.

Full-text global news sources, including newspapers, newswires, television and radio transcripts, numerous regional and industry publications, and images from Reuters, along with financial data including business ratios. Content comes from ~160 countries in 22 languages. Only 3 Oberlin users at one time.

Gateway to the Library of Congress's vast resources of digitized American historical materials. Comprising more than 9 million items that document U.S. history and culture, the content is organized into more than 100 thematic collections.

Over 1 million images selected to support research and reaching in art history from pre-historical to contemporary media.

A platform that brings together the riches of America’s libraries, archives, and museums, and makes them freely available to the world. It strives to contain the full breadth of human expression, from the written word, to works of art and culture, to records of America’s heritage, to the efforts and data of science.

Digital archive of diverse source material pertaining to the histories of Indigenous peoples and their intersections with European peoples in North America. Sources include manuscripts, monographs, newspapers, photographs, motion pictures, images of artwork, and more. Part of Gale Primary Sources.

Political extremism and radicalism in the twentieth century is a compilation of rare and unique archival collections covering a wide range of fringe political movements. It offers a diverse mixture of materials, including periodicals, campaign propaganda, government records, oral histories, and various ephemera. Materials are primarily from the U.S., Britain, Europe, and Australia. Part of Gale Primary Sources.

Full-text, searchable scans of source material of all types from the 17th and 18th centuries; an important resource for primary information about every aspect of life in 17th- and 18th-century America.

Primary source matierial of all types documenting American history from 1801-1819.