Archives
-
Library of Congress Digital Collections This link opens in a new windowGateway to the Library of Congress's vast resources of digitized American historical materials. Comprising more than 9 million items that document U.S. history and culture, the content is organized into more than 100 thematic collections.
-
Digital Public Library of America This link opens in a new windowA platform that brings together the riches of America’s libraries, archives, and museums, and makes them freely available to the world. It strives to contain the full breadth of human expression, from the written word, to works of art and culture, to records of America’s heritage, to the efforts and data of science.
-
Discovering American Women's History OnlineThis database provides access to digital collections of primary sources (photos, letters, diaries, artifacts, etc.) that document the history of women in the United States. These diverse collections range from Ancestral Pueblo pottery to Katrina Thomas's photographs of ethnic weddings from the late 20th century.
-
Documents from the Women's Liberation Movement: Print CultureManifestos, speeches, essays, and other materials documenting various aspects of the Women's Movement in the United States in the 1960s and 1970s.
-
Political Extremism & Radicalism in the Twentieth Century (OhioLINK Access) This link opens in a new window
Political extremism and radicalism in the twentieth century is a compilation of rare and unique archival collections covering a wide range of fringe political movements. It offers a diverse mixture of materials, including periodicals, campaign propaganda, government records, oral histories, and various ephemera. Materials are primarily from the U.S., Britain, Europe, and Australia. Part of Gale Primary Sources.
-
Women and Social Movements in the United States 1600-2000 This link opens in a new window
Archival document collections covering women's activism throughout US history, including papers of prominent organizations and individuals.
OBIS
Subjects that are useful for finding primary sources related to World War II:
- Personal narrative
- Sources
- Correspondence
- Archives
- Interviews
- Photographs
- Newspapers
News & Newspapers
-
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Full-text coverage of newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic, minority, and native press in America. Dates of Coverage: 1959 to date
-
Chronicling America: Historical American Newspapers This link opens in a new window
A collection of freely accessible historical American newspapers from all regions of the United States, developed by the Library of Congress. Dates of coverage: 1836-1963
-
America's Historical Imprints This link opens in a new window
Full-text, searchable scans of source material of all types from the 17th and 18th centuries; an important resource for primary information about every aspect of life in 17th- and 18th-century America.
-
Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker (1801-1819) This link opens in a new window
Primary source matierial of all types documenting American history from 1801-1819.
-
Women and Social Movements in the United States 1600-2000 This link opens in a new window
Archival document collections covering women's activism throughout US history, including papers of prominent organizations and individuals.
-
African American Newspapers (1827-1998): Series 1 This link opens in a new window
Provides online access to hundreds of historical U.S. newspapers chronicling the African American experience. Series 1 includes titles from the Wisconsin Historical Society, Kansas State Historical Society and the Library of Congress. Dates of Coverage: 1827-1998
-
Independent Voices: An Open Access Collection of an Alternative Press This link opens in a new window
Alternative press & magazines, journals, newsletters, and newspapers; includes feminist publications, small literary magazines, LGBT periodicals, GI press, and campus underground sources. Part of Reveal Digital. Dates of coverage: 1960s through 1980s
-
LGBTQ+ Source This link opens in a new window
Includes the full text of more than one hundred current or historically significant Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender (LGBT) journals, magazines and regional newspapers, and books.