Archival Collection and Oberlin in China
Oberlin College Archive
- Missionary Herald Magazine - Internet Archive
https://archive.org/details/missionaryherald1069amer/page/n9?q=opium+oberlin
- Memorial Arch in Archive
Digital images
http://oberlinarchives.libraryhost.com/index.php?p=collections/controlcard&id=112&q=Memorial+arch
Box 24, Buildings and Dedications in College General Records (1901-1915)
- Shansi Memorial Association Records RG15
- Susan Rowena Birds Paper, 1843-1945 n.d
- Alice Moon and George L. Williams Papers, 1883-1959 Box 4 and Box 7
Additional help, please contact Archives here
- Shansi: Oberlin and Asia
An online digital collection that documents the activity of Oberlinians in Asia from the 1880s to the 1950s. It contains materials from the Oberlin Shansi Memorial Association Records and personal paper collections, and it represents a small percentage of the total amount of materials in the College Archives that relate to the work of missionaries and Shansi Representatives in China and as well as other countries.
Reference Books related to Opium War and Oberlin Shansi
- The Oberlin Band : the Christian mission in Shanxi, 1882-1900 byCall Number: BV3420.S6 C369 2001Publication Date: 2001
- China journal, 1889-1900 : an American missionary family during the Boxer Rebellion : with the letters and diaries of Eva Jane Price and her family byCall Number: DS771.P75 1989ISBN: 0684189518Publication Date: 1989-02-01
- The Boxer Rebellion : China, 1900 : the artists' perspective byCall Number: DS771.5 .S35 2000ISBN: 1853674095Publication Date: 2006-02-19High-quality, evocative, contemporary artwork depicting the Boxer uprising in China.
Massacre in Shansi by Call Number: BV3420.S43B73 1994ISBN: 0815602820Publication Date: 1994-05-01This text tells the tragic story of the 18 missionaries from Oberlin College, Ohio, and the Chinese Christians, who were all killed during the Boxer Rebellion in 1900. Caught up in a clash of cultures, the missionaries were self-righteous and offensive symbols of Western imperialism.
The Origins of the Boxer Uprising by Call Number: DS771.E73 1987ISBN: 9780520064591Publication Date: 1988-08-18In the summer of 1900, bands of peasant youths from the villages of north China streamed into Beijing to besiege the foreign legations, attracting the attention of the entire world. Joseph Esherick reconstructs the early history of the Boxers, challenging the traditional view that they grew from earlier anti-dynastic sects, and stressing instead the impact of social ecology and popular culture.
| Book Title | Author | Publication | Year | Call # if any |
| Talks on Changing china | EMILY E. ENTWISTLE, L.L.A | London Missionary Society | 1915 | |
|
A Pioneer Tobacco Merchant In the Orient
|
James A. Thomas | Duke University Press | 1928 | 915.1T364P |
|
Opium: England's Coercive Policy and Its Disastrous Results in China and India
|
John Liggins | New York Funk & Wagnalls | 1881 | RC568.O6L5 1882 |
|
Opinions of Over 100 Physicians On the Use of Opium In China
|
William Hector Park, M.D | American Presbyterian Mission Press | 1899 | 178.8P21 |
|
Weathering the Chinese Revolution
|
Teian Hospital Report | 1926 | ||
| Opium the Demon Flower | Sara Graham-Mulhall | New York Hardold Vinal | 1926 | 178.8M8980 |
| The War Against Opium | The International Anti-Opium Association Peking | Tientsin Tientsin Press LTD | 1922 | 178.8In81W |
|
Opium's Long Shadow: From Asian Revolt To Global Drug Control
|
Steffen Rimner | Harvard University Press | 2018 | HV5816.R565 2018 |
| The Royal Commission On Opium | Joyce A. Mandancy | Reports, Minutes of Evidence, and Appendices | 1893-1895 | HV5840.14A55 2003 Vol.1 |
|
China Visualized by Americans
|
1840-1911 | DS755.M4542017C | ||
|
Intimate China: the Chinese As I Have Seen Them
|
Mrs. Archibald Little | Hutchinson & Co. Paternoster Row, London | DS796.S243W832003 | |
| China Through the Stereoscope: A Journey Through the Dragon Empire At the Time Of the Boxer Uprising | James Ricaltion | Underwood & Underwood | 1900 | 9151R357 |
Contact
College Archivist
Ken Grossi, ken.grossi@oberlin.edu
Visual Resources Curator
Heath Patten, heath.patten@oberlin.edu
Additional Help
- Become a better researcher!
- Drop in at the Research Help Desk or call 440-775-5031 during research desk hours
- Email us: reference@oberlin.edu
- Sign up for a research appt.