Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
How to Develop Research Questions/Topics
Before you begin the search,
1) Which topic in this class are you interested in?
-- think about all the readings, anything you find it useful
2) What are the current scholarships on this topic?
-- from the topic, try some search on Summon, Google Scholar or OBIS to start with.
3) What are the arguments/thesis of these scholarship? Do they agree with each other or against each other?
4) Which side of the argument you agree or disagree? Do you have your own argument?
-- from what you have found, extend your search, using Subject Heading search in OBIS, or particular database search for alternative keywords, or try the new tool: Keywords Generator
Search Tips: how to use "AND" "OR" and "NOT";
Each result contains all search terms.
Each result contains at least one search term.
Results do not contain the specified terms.
The search heart and lung finds items that contain both heart and lung.
The search heart or lung finds items that contain either heart or items that contain lung.
The search heart not lung finds items that contain heart but do not contain lung.
Encyclopedias, Dictionaries and References
Resources for East Asian Language and Thought
by Charles Muller, Professor from University of Tokyo
It provides some valuable resources related to Muller's own research in Chinese thoughts, and translation of some East Asian religious texts.
Wikipedia - Please use with caution. Not all entries are reliable.
Berkshire Encyclopedia of China by
Publication Date: 2008-01-01
This encyclopedia is meant for any person - student, teacher, businessperson, government official, tourist - who seeks an understanding of China, in the past, present, and future.
Chinese History by
Publication Date: 2015-09-07
Wilkinson's manual of Chinese history introduces students to different types of transmitted, excavated, and artefactual sources from prehistory to the twenty-first century. It also examines the context in which the sources were produced, preserved, and received, the problems of research and interpretation associated with them, and the best, most up-to-date secondary works.
Encyclopedia of Modern Asia
Publication Date: 2002-11-27
This encyclopedia is an overview of American law covering historical and modern terms, concepts, events, movements, cases and persons significant to US law. Entries range from brief definitions of legal jargon to examinations of courtroom procedure, from explanations of complex topics such as civil rights to biographies of standout attorneys, from analyses of controversial issues such as gun control to transcripts of crucial Supreme Court decisions.
Historical Dictionary of the People's Republic of China by
Publication Date: 2016-08-03
This third edition of Historical Dictionary of the People's Republic of China contains a chronology, an introduction, appendixes, and an extensive bibliography. The dictionary section has over 700 cross-referenced entries on important personalities, politics, economy, foreign relations, religion, and culture. This book is an excellent access point for students, researchers, and anyone wanting to know more about China.
Publication Date: 1993-10-01
This work offers information on contemporary Japanese society, history, art culture and also contains data on the economy, government, and politics of Japan. In addition to the main entries and over 4000 color illustrations, here are nearly 100 feature articles and pictorial essays.
Kodansha Encyclopedia of Japan by
Publication Date: 1983-11-01
This nine-volume reference contains over 10,000 articles exploring every aspect of Japanese society, history, politics, economy, thought and culture. The 50,000-item index is cross-referenced for easy location of facts.
CJK Romanization System
OBIS DOES NOT support the search CJK language material using Chinese/Japanese/Korean characters.
- Romanization for CJK languages (Chinese/Japanese/Korean)
- Libraries use China’s pinyin system but have significant variations. Please refer to the Library of Congress New Chinese Romanization Guideline 2011 for a quick reference. The guideline also provides reference to Wade-Giles and Pinyin conversion.
- For Japanese Romanization system (2012).
- For Korean Romanization system (2009).
- For Tibetan Romanization system (2015).
PLEASE USE THE PROPER ROMANIZATION SYSTEM.
If you need any further help, please email me!