Repertoire Guides
Women in American Music by
A truly significant and thoroughgoing addition to the literature of American music, authoritative, carefully researched, and well organized; opens for the first time the door to a remarkably well-stocked roomful of American music and musical personalities, and invites a serious reassessment of women's place in our musical history.”– Wiley Hitchcock, Brooklyn College, CUNY
Call Number: ML 128.W7 B6ISBN: 0313214107Publication Date: 1979-11-30
Catalog, Compositions of Concert Music by New York Women Composers by Call Number: ML 128.W7 C38 1994Publication Date: 1994- KOM : Komponistinnen im Musikverlag : Katalog lieferbarer Musikalien by Call Number: ML 128.W7 K66 1996ISBN: 3927327298Publication Date: 1996
Say Can You Deny Me by
Jackson has culminated her lifelong research in producing this bibliographically arranged guide. "Say Can You Deny Me" lists the locations of the printed and manuscript sources of Renaissance, baroque, classic, and some early romantic women composers. With listings from over 400 libraries worldwide, the guide is the definitive work documenting a substantial contribution to the world of music by women.
Call Number: ML128.W7 J3 1994ISBN: 1557283036Publication Date: 1994-09-01
Repertoire for Specific Instruments
Flute Music by Women Composers by
Boenke has spent four years gleaning all possible sources to come up with several hundred listings of composers from three centuries and over 40 different countries. In addition to the alphabetical listing are indexes for instrumentation, title, publisher, and composer. It contains works for solo flute, duets, flute and piano, concertos, woodwind quintets, other chamber ensembles, or any work that employs soloistic use of the flute.
Call Number: Con Ref ML128.F7 B6 1988ISBN: 0313260192Publication Date: 1988
A Catalog of Compositions for Guitar by Women Composers by
This useful book is divided into two sections, one containing composer biographies and references; the other lists compositions by instrumentation.
Call Number: Con Ref ML128.G8M322 1984ISBN: 0961417005Publication Date: 1984
Guitar Music by Women Composers by
A practical guide for guitarists searching for new repertoire that includes women composers, this unique work lists musical works by instrumentation followed by biographies of each composer. The format first leads users to available pieces in possible ensembles and then to the biographical section, which introduces them to the composers, many of whom have been completely unknown in the guitar world. Appendixes list addresses for composers and publishers. Indexes cross reference composers with their works. Instrumentation entries include titles, composer names, publisher names, specific instruments, and length and description of the piece for indication of style. In the biographical entries, sources are given to guide the reader to more complete information about the composer. These features, combined with valuable appendixes, indexes, and cross-referencing capabilities from section to section, make this work easy to use.
Call Number: ML128.G8 M33 1997ISBN: 0313293856Publication Date: 1997-08-07
Keyboard Music by Women Composers by
An important catalog of music written for the harpsichord, organ, and piano by over 250
women composers from the 17th century to the present time. Arranged alphabetically, the
catalog lists names, dates, and brief biographical information of the composers, inventories of their keyboard works, and bibliographies of literature by and about the
composers. Includes an introductory essay on women composers in early keyboard
literature. Among the appendices are listings of composers by period and by country, and
a discography
Call Number: Con Ref ML128.H35M43ISBN: 0313228337Publication Date: 1981
Organ and Harpsichord Music by Women Composers by
This reference work catalogs music for organ and harpsichord written by more than 700 women composers from 40 countries. Compiler Adel Heinrich has expanded the organ and harpsichord repertoire to include choir and instruments accompanying organ and harpsichord. She provides more detailed information about each work than can be found in any other reference book on women composers. In addition to biographies for each woman, Heinrich supplies listings of individual compositions, and includes descriptions and sources whenever possible. Each composition is listed in both the Instrumentation Index and the Title Index. Publishers, library sources, and recording companies with their addresses are also provided. There is also a chronological listing of composers by country. Two appendices list a large number of women who have either written music for organ and harpsichord with no specific titles known, or have performed on one or both instruments. This reference book is a valuable resource for organists, harpsichordists, teachers, choral and instrumental conductors, and planners of festivals and recitals.
Call Number: ML128.O6O73 1991ISBN: 0313268029Publication Date: 1991-06-30
Piano Music by Black Women Composers by
The depth of detail in this comprehensive catalog of music composed by African American women required limiting the scope to solo and ensemble piano music, but an introductory overview on the contributions of black women in music and biographical sketches on the 54 composers profiled in the catalog contain broader information. Over 300 piano works are listed, with detailed descriptive information on close to 200 works that Walker-Hill was able to obtain and study. Appendixes list available published music, ensemble instrumentation, music for teaching, and music published before 1920.
Call Number: Con Ref ML128.P3 W3 1992ISBN: 0313281416Publication Date: 1992Violin Music by Women Composers by This book includes a biographies section which briefly summarizes the life and work of women composers from the Baroque to 20th century American and International. The music section identifies and describes compositions in 12 genre categories. Violin Music by Women Composers is divided into three main sections: Biographies, Music, and Discography. The volume concludes with a bibliography and references.
Call Number: Con Ref ML128.W7J63 1989ISBN: 0313266522Publication Date: 1989
Women composers: A Checklist of Works for the Solo Voice by
This book contains three lists: one of composers and song titles, along with dates, nationality of composers, publishers, and certain libraries that own copies of the music, another of composers known to have written vocal works, and one of women believe to have composed vocal music. Following is a list of operas, cantatas, and other major works.
Call Number: Con Ref ML128.V7S855ISBN: 9780816184989Publication Date: 1980
Suffragist Sheet Music by
This is a reference work of sheet music published in the U.S. from the late 18th century to the year after adoption of the 19th amendment to the Constitution granting women the right to vote. The entries present bibliographic data on each piece of music, a photographic depiction of the cover or first page (where available), and the complete lyrics for each piece.
Call Number: ML128.W7 C74 2002ISBN: 0786412984Publication Date: 2002
Anthologies
Historical Anthology of Music by Women by
Contains vocal and instrumental music from the Middle Ages to the present, with introductory essays on each composer.
Call Number: M1 .H664 1987ISBN: 0253212960Publication Date: 1987-02-01
New Historical Anthology of Music by Women by
New Historical Anthology of Music by Women updates the extremely popular collection with 55 compositions by 46 women composers from the ancient Greeks to the present. Each work is introduced by an informative essay by a specialist in the field, with recommendations for further reading, listening, and performing. Historical scores have been transcribed into modern notation for ease of use, and the works represent a wide variety of genres, including solo songs, chamber music, piano music, and orchestral scores. Composers include Sappho, Hildegard of Bingen, Barbara Strozzi, Clara Schumann, and Fanny Mendelssohn-Hensel. The anthology includes a foreword by Susan McClary, the leading scholar on women's music. New Historical Anthology of Music by Women is supplemented by an expanded 3-CD set featuring newly commissioned recordings.
Call Number: M1 .H664 2004ISBN: 0253216834Publication Date: 2004-08-11- Women Composers by
This work represents a comprehensive historical overview of music created by women from the 9th to the 20th century. Each volume features 10-25 complete musical scores or complete movements from multi-movement compositions, many of which have been previously difficult to access. Expert scholars provide original essays about the composers, including biographical information, a discussion of the music in historical content, and critical analysis of each work. Entries also include a bibliography, a list of works by the composer and a discography. This first volume about composers born before 1600, covers music by women of the convent, women of nobility, and the trobaritz (women troubadors). The music is predominantly sacred, vocal and a capella.
Call Number: M2 .W88 1996ISBN: 0816109265Publication Date: 1996-03-01
Anthologies for Specific Instruments
- Flute music by female composers : 13 pieces for flute and piano by
Includes preface and biographical notes on the composers in English and German
Call Number: M241 .F62 2008ISBN: 841886004498Publication Date: 2008
- Pian é forte : Klaviermusik = Music for piano : women composers through the centuries by
Includes preface and biographical notes in English and German
Call Number: M21 .P4915 2011ISBN: 9790501823253Publication Date: 2011
Women Composers - A Heritage of Song by
(Vocal Collection). With 45 songs by 22 composers, this is the most comprehensive single volume of art songs composed by women ever published. It includes biographical information about the composers and historical information about each song, with songs in English, French, German and Italian.
Call Number: M1619 .W84 2004bISBN: 0634078712Publication Date: 2005-01-01- Lieder by women composers of the classic era by
German, French, Italian, or English words, with program notes in English
Call Number: M1619 .L4313 198Publication Date: 1987
