Start Here
Search the ML 82 section for many books on topics related to gender and music of various genres. The sources listed on the rest of this page do not include those found in the ML 82 section.
Early Music
Gender, Sexuality, and Early Music by
First Published in 2002. Routledge is an imprint of Taylor & Francis, an informa company. Electronic version also available through OBIS.
Call Number: ML3838 .G373 2002ISBN: 0815333943Publication Date: 2002-02-22
Classical Music
A Guide for Researching Music By Women Composers by
Guide to organizations, libraries, bibliographies, journals, and biographies useful for researching music by women composers.
Call Number: ML 128 .W7 E67 1990Publication Date: 1990- Women and Music: A Selective Bibliography on Women and Gender Issues in Music, 1987-1992 by
Annotated guide to many different types of publications from the years 1987 - 1992 about women and gender issues in music.
Call Number: ML 128 .W7 E75 1996ISBN: 0816105804Publication Date: 1996-01-01
Women in American Music by
A truly significant and thoroughgoing addition to the literature of American music, authoritative, carefully researched, and well organized; opens for the first time the door to a remarkably well-stocked roomful of American music and musical personalities, and invites a serious reassessment of women's place in our musical history.”– Wiley Hitchcock, Brooklyn College, CUNY
Call Number: ML 128.W7 B6ISBN: 0313214107Publication Date: 1979-11-30- Frau und Musik by
In German. Bibliography of works about women in music.
Call Number: ML 128 .W7 F738 1999ISBN: 3487103206Publication Date: 1999-01-01
Alma Mahler and Her Contemporaries by
This selective annotated bibliography places Alma Mahler with three other female composers of her time, covering the first generation of active female composers in the twentieth century. It uncovers the wealth of resources available on the lives and music of Mahler, Florence Price, Yuliya Lazarevna Veysberg, and Maria Teresa Prieto and supports emerging scholarship and inquiry on four women who experienced both entrenched sexual discrimination and political upheaval, which affected their lives and influenced composers of subsequent generations.
Call Number: ML 128 .W7 F55 2018ISBN: 1138930148Publication Date: 2017-12-19
Music in the Girl's Own Paper: an Annotated Catalogue, 1880-1910 by
Nineteenth-century British periodicals for girls and women offer a wealth of material to understand how girls and women fit into their social and cultural worlds, of which music making was an important part. The Girl's Own Paper, first published in 1880, stands out because of its rich musical content. Keeping practical usefulness as a research tool and as a guide to further reading in mind, Judith Barger has catalogued the musical content found in the weekly and later monthly issues during the magazine's first thirty years, in music scores, instalments of serialized fiction about musicians, music-related nonfiction, poetry with a musical title or theme, illustrations depicting music making and replies to musical correspondents. The book's introductory chapter reveals how content in The Girl's Own Paper changed over time to reflect a shift in women's music making from a female accomplishment to an increasingly professional role within the discipline, using 'the piano girl' as a case study. A comparison with musical content found in The Boy's Own Paper over the same time span offers additional insight into musical content chosen for the girls' magazine. A user's guide precedes the chronological annotated catalogue; the indexes that follow reveal the magazine's diversity of approach to the subject of music.
Call Number: ML128.P24 B34 2017ISBN: 1472454537Publication Date: 2016-10-03- The Story of the All Women's Orchestras in California, 1893-1955: Bibliography by Call Number: ML128.W7F792 1985Publication Date: 1985
Jazz
Gender and Identity in Jazz by Call Number: ML3506 .G45 2016ISBN: 9783955930141Publication Date: 2016Women in Jazz: A Discography of Instrumentalists, 1913-1968 by Presents a complete picture of women instrumentalists' recording activity from 1913 to 1968.' Jan Leder also shows the significant contributions made by women in jazz and their involvement playing jazz since its beginnings.
Call Number: Con Ref ML156.4.J3 L44 1985ISBN: 0313247900Publication Date: 1985-10-22
Popular Music
The Ashgate Research Companion to Popular Music and Gender by
Why is gender inseparable from pop songs? What can gender representations in musical performances mean? Why are there strong links between gender, sexuality and popular music? The sound of the voice, the mix, the arrangement, the lyrics and images, all link our impressions of gender to music. Numerous scholars writing about gender in popular music to date are concerned with the music industry's impact on fans, and how tastes and preferences become associated with gender. This is the first collection of its kind to develop and present new theories and methods in the analysis of popular music and gender. The contributors are drawn from a range of disciplines including musicology, sociology, anthropology, gender studies, philosophy, and media studies, providing new reference points for studies in this interdisciplinary field. Stan Hawkins's introduction sets out to situate a variety of debates that prompts ways of thinking and working, where the focus falls primarily on gender roles. Amongst the innovative approaches taken up in this collection are: queer performativity, gender theory, gay and lesbian agency, the female pop celebrity, masculinities, transculturalism, queering, transgenderism and androgyny. This Research Companion is required reading for scholars and teachers of popular music, whatever their disciplinary background.
Call Number: ML3470 .R75 2017ISBN: 1472456831Publication Date: 2017-03-17
Sexing the Groove by
Sexing the Groove brings together leading music and cultural theorists to explore the relationships between popular music, gender and sexuality. The contributors, who include Mavis Beayton, Stella Bruzzi, Sara Cohen, Sean Cubitt, Keith Negus and Will Straw, debate how popular music performers, subcultures, fans and texts construct and deconstruct `masculine' and `feminine' identities. Using a wide range of case studies, from Mick Jagger to Riot Grrrls, they demonstrate that there is nothing `natural', permanent or immovable about the regime of sexual difference which governs society and culture. Sexing the Groove also includes a comprehensive annotated bibliography for further reading and research into gender and popular music.
Call Number: ML3470 .R75 2017ISBN: 0415146704Publication Date: 1997-11-04
Disruptive Divas by
Disruptive Divasfocuses on four female musicians: Tori Amos, Courtney Love, Me'Shell Ndegéocello and P. J. Harvey who have marked contemporary popular culture in unexpected ways have impelled and disturbed the boundaries of "acceptable" female musicianship.
Call Number: MT146 .B87 2002ISBN: 0815335539Publication Date: 2001-10-12
Playing It Queer by
With an activist voice that is impassioned yet adherent to scholarly rigour, Playing it Queer provides an original and compelling ethnographic account of the relationship between popular music, queer self-fashioning and (sub)cultural world-making. This book begins with a comprehensive survey and critical evaluation of relevant literatures on queer identity and political debates as well as popular music, identity and (sub)cultural style. Contextualised within a detailed history of queer sensibilities and creative practices, including camp, drag, genderfuck, queercore, feminist music and club cultures, the author's rich empirical studies of local performers and translocal scenes intimately capture the meaning and value of popular musics and (sub)cultural style in everyday queer lives.
ISBN: 9783035104202Publication Date: 2012-07-03
Breaking down the Walls of Heartache by
Martin Aston's Breaking Down the Walls of Heartache: How Music Came Out is the first book to convey the protracted and, at times, torturous tale of popular music's queer past, present, and future. Aston's book offers a definitive social and musical history spanning 100 years, starting in the British music halls and Harlem blues clubs of the early 20th century and continuing through the noughties of the 21st, and replete with insights on best-known stars and hidden pioneers alike. An exceptional first salvo in what's destined to be a field of inquiry for generations, Breaking Down the Walls of Heartache deserves a place of honor on library shelves, nightstands, and coffee tables perused by music fans of every gender and persuasion.
Call Number: ML3470 .A88 2017ISBN: 1617136522Publication Date: 2017-06-01
Electronic Music and Audio Engineering
Pink Noises by
Pink Noises brings together twenty-four interviews with women in electronic music and sound cultures, including club and radio DJs, remixers, composers, improvisers, instrument builders, and installation and performance artists. The collection is an extension of Pinknoises.com, the critically-acclaimed website founded by musician and scholar Tara Rodgers in 2000 to promote women in electronic music and make information about music production more accessible to women and girls. That site featured interviews that Rodgers conducted with women artists, exploring their personal histories, their creative methods, and the roles of gender in their work. This book offers new and lengthier interviews, a critical introduction, and resources for further research and technological engagement. Contemporary electronic music practices are illuminated through the stories of women artists of different generations and cultural backgrounds. They include the creators of ambient soundscapes, "performance novels," sound sculptures, and custom software, as well as the developer of the Deep Listening philosophy and the founders of the Liquid Sound Lounge radio show and the monthly Basement Bhangra parties in New York. These and many other artists open up about topics such as their conflicted relationships to formal music training and mainstream media representations of women in electronic music. They discuss using sound to work creatively with structures of time and space, and voice and language; challenge distinctions of nature and culture; question norms of technological practice; and balance their needs for productive solitude with collaboration and community. Whether designing and building modular synthesizers with analog circuits or performing with a wearable apparatus that translates muscle movements into electronic sound, these artists expand notions of who and what counts in matters of invention, production, and noisemaking. Pink Noises is a powerful testimony to the presence and vitality of women in electronic music cultures, and to the relevance of sound to feminist concerns. Interviewees: Maria Chavez, Beth Coleman (M. Singe), Antye Greie (AGF), Jeannie Hopper, Bevin Kelley (Blevin Blectum), Christina Kubisch, Le Tigre, Annea Lockwood, Giulia Loli (DJ Mutamassik), Rekha Malhotra (DJ Rekha), Riz Maslen (Neotropic), Kaffe Matthews, Susan Morabito, Ikue Mori, Pauline Oliveros, Pamela Z, Chantal Passamonte (Mira Calix), Maggi Payne, Eliane Radigue, Jessica Rylan, Carla Scaletti, Laetitia Sonami, Bev Stanton (Arthur Loves Plastic), Keiko Uenishi (o.blaat)
ISBN: 9780822394150Publication Date: 2010-03-23
Women in Audio by
Women in Audiofeatures almost 100 profiles and stories of audio engineers who are women and have achieved success throughout the history of the trade. Women in Audiois a valuable resource for professionals of all levels, educators and students looking to gain insight into the careers of trailblazing women in audio-related fields and represents required reading for those looking to add diversity to their music technology programs.
ISBN: 9781138316010Publication Date: 2019-12-20
Cross-Genre Sources
The Queer Encyclopedia of Music, Dance, and Musical Theater by
Aficionados of music, dance, opera and musical theatre will relish this volume featuring over 200 articles showcasing composers, singers, musicians, dancers and choreographers across eras and styles. Read about Hildegard of Bingen, whose Symphonia expressed both spiritual and physical desire for the Virgin Mary, and George Frideric Handel, who not only created roles for castrati but was behind the Venetian opera's preoccupations with gender ambiguity. Discover Alban Berg's Lulu, opera's first openly lesbian character. And don't forget Kiss Me Kate, written by openly gay Cole Porter.
Call Number: ML100 .Q44 2004ISBN: 9781573441988Publication Date: 2004-11-24
