Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Finding Full Text
Many databases offered on the library's website include the full text of articles. Click on the pdf or html icon to download the article.
If full text is not available, click the Find It or 360 Link icons to see if there is access from another source. Look for: or displayed for each item in the databases offered from the library's website. In Google Scholar, look for Find Full Text @ Oberlin. Access at publisher's websites is generally limited to subscribers.
Full-text is not always accessible for immediate download. The 360 Link may lead to an intermediary page that offers access through Interlibrary loan. If you have trouble, consult library staff.
Use the Journal Finder to look up coverage dates for a specific title.
Music Index Online This link opens in a new window
Music Index Online covers topics concerned with every aspect of the classical and popular world of music. Dates of coverage: 1979-present.
RILM Full Text This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive music bibliography providing international coverage of music literature. Dates of coverage: 1775 to the present.
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary - good for nearly all subjects. Scholarly and trade journals, popular magazines, newspapers, conference proceedings, book reviews, and more.
SciELO (Scientific Electronic Library Online) This link opens in a new window
Open access periodicals from countries in Latin America.
Performing Arts Periodicals Database This link opens in a new window
Indexes over 200 scholarly and popular performing arts periodicals. Also indexes a variety of documents such as biographical profiles, conference papers, obituaries, interviews, discographies, reviews and events. Dates of Coverage: 1864 to date
MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Index to books, essays, and journal articles on modern languages, literatures, fiction, folklore and linguistics. Topics include literary theory, criticism, folk literature and belief systems, linguistics, semantics, translation, dramatic arts, and history of printing and publishing. Covers literature worldwide and includes materials in all genres and in foreign languages. Dates of Coverage: 1926 to date
The Journal of American folklore
Scholarly articles of significant research findings and theoretical analysis from folklore and related fields, essays, notes, commentaries, reviews of books, exhibitions, sound recordings and films.
Peer-reviewed articles written from a variety of disciplinary perspectives including ethnomusicology, musicology, anthropology, sociology and cultural studies.
Transcultural music review
TRANS-Transcultural Music Review publishes original articles in Spanish, English and Portuguese (other languages may be considered) on a wide range of topics in ethnomusicology, traditional music research, popular music studies and music studies at large that embrace cross-cultural and trans-disciplinary approaches.
Latin American music review
Latin American Music Review explores the historical, ethnographic, and socio-cultural dimensions of Latin American music. Each issue contains film, record, and video reviews. Articles appear in English, Spanish, or Portuguese.