Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
NOTE: Some of these databases may also include non-scholarly materials.
Academic Search Complete
Multidisciplinary - good for nearly all subjects. Scholarly and trade journals, popular magazines, newspapers, conference proceedings, book reviews, and more.
Communication & Mass Media Complete
Scholarly journal and trade magazine articles on all aspects of communication, rhetoric, journalism, film and television studies.
Full-text coverage of newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic, minority, and native press in America. Dates of Coverage: 1959 to date
Alternative Press Index
References to journal, newspaper, and magazine articles from over 300 international alternative, radical, and left periodicals. Dates of coverage: 1991 to date
Independent Voices: An Open Access Collection of an Alternative Press
Alternative press & magazines, journals, newsletters, and newspapers; includes feminist publications, small literary magazines, LGBT periodicals, GI press, and campus underground sources. Dates of coverage: 1960s through 1980s
A wide range of news, political, legal, and business information from thousands of sources, mostly full text. Includes newspapers, magazines, wire services, federal and state court opinions, federal and state statutes, federal regulations, and SEC filings. News information is updated daily and wire services several times daily.
Vanderbilt Television News Archive
Evening news broadcasts from ABC, CBS, and NBC (since 1968), an hour per day of CNN (since 1995) and Fox News (since 2004).
World News Connection (1995 - 2013)
Translations and transcripts of news stories from non-U.S. media sources including newspaper articles, conference proceedings, television and radio broadcasts, periodicals, and non-classified technical reports. Coverage focuses on socioeconomic, political, scientific, technical, and environmental issues and events. Dates of Coverage: 1995 - 2013
Access World News
A comprehensive resource that includes a variety of news publications worldwide. These sources include major national and international newspapers, as well as local and regional titles as well as newswires, blogs, web-only content, videos, journals, magazines, transcripts and more.
The film and video archive of the Associated Press is freely available on YouTube. The collection includes over 1.7 million global news and entertainment stories dating back to 1895.
Cleveland News Index
Citations to local news stories, feature articles and reviews from: Plain Dealer (1983-June 1999; Cleveland Magazine (1983- ); Northern Ohio Live (Sept. 1990- ); Ohio Magazine (1990- ). Includes obituaries since 1976. Dates of Coverage: 1983 to date
Full-text global news sources, including newspapers, newswires, television and radio transcripts, numerous regional and industry publications, and images from Reuters. Content comes from ~160 countries in 22 languages. Only 3 Oberlin users at one time.
Los Angeles Times (1881-1996)
Search for keywords or browse images of complete pages by date.
New York Times (1851-2016)
Search by keywords or browse images of full pages by date.