Finding Social Science Datasets
- Sage Data This link opens in a new windowLarge repository of harmonized datasets from a variety of sources, with global and time series coverage. Datasets allow complete access to datasets using customizable tables, graphs and maps, with numerous output formats available (Excel, PDF, delimited text, SAS, SPSS, XML, Shapefile GIS).
- Data.gov This link opens in a new windowProvides descriptions of the Federal datasets (metadata), information about how to access the datasets, and tools that leverage government datasets. Great place to find population, housing, economic and geographic data, climate, education, energy, health, and science as well as maps, fact sheets, tools and other resources.
- Historical Statistics of the United States This link opens in a new window
Standard source for quantitative facts of American history. Users can view and download data, and create customized tables and spreadsheets.
- ICPSR This link opens in a new windowICPSR (Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research) maintains an archive of more than 500,000 data files in the social sciences. Includes a bibliography of literature related to the data.
- IMF eLibrary Data This link opens in a new window
Provides comprehensive access to International Financial Statistics (IFS), Balance of Payments Statistics (BOPS), Direction of Trade Statistics (DOTS), and Government Finance Statistics (GFS) databases. Uses can view and download predefined data reports or create custom reports of IMF data.
- International Database This link opens in a new windowFor over 60 years, the Census Bureau has performed international analytical work and assisted in the collection, processing, analysis, dissemination, and use of statistics with counterpart governments in over 100 countries. Use this database to find demographic indicators, population pyramids, and source information for countries and areas of the world with a population of 5,000 or more
- iPoll Search (1935 to date) This link opens in a new windowComprehensive source for US nationwide public opinion as measured by academic, media and commercial survey organizations. Data is available at the question-level. Dates of coverage: 1935 -
- Journal Citation Reports (via Web of Science) This link opens in a new window
Publisher-neutral statistics and data about journals (including Journal Impact Factor and Journal Citation Indicator) from Web of Science citation indexes.
- Social Explorer This link opens in a new window
Provides access to current and historical U.S. census and other demographic data. Users can create maps and reports.
Users must register for an account (free for current students, faculty, and staff with an active oberlin.edu email address) to access a full range of features.
Follow these steps to complete the account registration process:
1. If prompted, enter oberlin.edu email address, then select Continue;
2. Enter first name, last name, and a password, then select Continue;
3. Under “Choose industry”, select “Education” from the dropdown menu;
4. Under “Position”, select the appropriate role (e.g. “Undergraduate Student”), then select “Continue”;
5. A pop-up message may appear, confirming coverage under a professional license provided by the College; select “Continue”. - State & County Quickfacts This link opens in a new windowProvides statistics for all states and counties, and for cities and towns with a population of 5,000 or more.
Finding Natural Science Datasets
- CAS SciFinder-n This link opens in a new windowReference, substance, reaction and supplier information, step-by-step procedures and protocols, citation mapping, sequence searching, retrosynthetic analysis, patent landscape mapping, and touch-screen enabled structure drawing. (1907-present) Note: Access requires individual registration from on-campus or after authenticating with the Proxy Server or VPN. New users register here
- Data.gov This link opens in a new windowProvides descriptions of the Federal datasets (metadata), information about how to access the datasets, and tools that leverage government datasets. Great place to find population, housing, economic and geographic data, climate, education, energy, health, and science as well as maps, fact sheets, tools and other resources.
- Digital Library for Earth System Education (DLESE) This link opens in a new windowProvides access to high-quality collections of educational resources and Earth data sets and imagery.
- Ensembl This link opens in a new windowGenome databases for vertebrates and other eukaryotic species.
- Entrez, The Life Sciences Search Engine This link opens in a new windowA cross-database search engine from the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI).
- Fossil Calibration Database This link opens in a new windowData repository about the world's oldest fossils, funded by the National Evolutionary Synthesis Center.
- GenBank This link opens in a new windowThe NIH genetic sequence database; an annotated collection of all publicly available DNA sequences.
- Invertebrates Collection Database This link opens in a new windowThe online database of The Field Museum's collection of mollusks.
- iPoll Search (1935 to date) This link opens in a new windowComprehensive source for US nationwide public opinion as measured by academic, media and commercial survey organizations. Data is available at the question-level. Dates of coverage: 1935 -
- SIMBAD Astronomical Database This link opens in a new windowProvides basic data, cross-identifications, bibliography and measurements for astronomical objects outside the solar system.
- WikiPathways This link opens in a new windowAn open, collaborative platform dedicated to the curation of biological pathways.
