Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Best Journal Article Database
GeoRef This link opens in a new window
Indexes all topics in geoscience, in journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports, theses and all publications of the U.S. Geological Survey. Dates of Coverage: 1785-present
Other Important Databases
GeoScienceWorld This link opens in a new window
Search and access full-text of 40 peer-reviewed journals indexed, linked, and inter-operable with GeoRef. Includes also full-text of hundreds of technical and scholarly ebooks at "http://ebooks.geoscienceworld.org"
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Scholarly literature in the sciences, health and medicine, social sciences, arts, and humanities and proceedings of international conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions. Includes cited reference searching across many databases. Search all databases in Web of Science
(includes Medline and BIOSIS, direct link for on-campus users). Dates of coverage: 1965 to present.
AAPG Datapages Archives
American Association of Petroleum Geologists publications, including AAPG Bulletin, plus content from 40 other publishers and societies. Access provided by alumnus Lawrence W. Funkhouser.
Indepth articles that synthesize and integrate knowledge for the progress of science and the benefit of society.
Digital Library for Earth System Education (DLESE)
Resources in DLESE include lesson plans, scientific data, visualizations, interactive computer models, and virtual field trips
Fossil Calibration Database
A curated collection of well-justified calibrations, including many published in the journal Palaeontologia Electronica. We also promote best practices for justifying fossil calibrations and citing calibrations properly.
Fossilworks provides query, download, and analysis tools that utilize the Paleobiology Database's large relational database assembled by hundreds of paleontologists from around the world.
National Centers for Environmental Information (NCEI)
Public access to one of the most significant archives for environmental data on Earth. Through the Center for Weather and Climate and the Center for Coasts, Oceans, and Geophysics, we provide over 25 petabytes of comprehensive atmospheric, coastal, oceanic, and geophysical data
Ohio Geology Digital Library
Collection of public domain documents was selected as a foundation to preserve and provide greater access to early writings on the geology of Ohio. It includes the work of the early geologic surveys and to this core we will continue to add documents.
TRAIL: Technical Report Archive and Image Library
identifies, acquires, catalogs, digitizes and provides unrestricted access to U.S. government agency technical reports.
USGS Publications Warehouse
United States Geological Survey publications. All series and formats.