Search Tip
Remember! Use background and secondary sources to build your pool of search terms.
Digital Primary Source Collections
Multi-region
- AM-Explorer This link opens in a new windowSubcollections of particular interest to your paper topics include:
Africa and the New Imperialism
American History
China America & the Pacific
Colonial America
Defining Gender
Indigenous Histories & Cultures in North America,
Indigenous Newspapers
Jewish Life in America
Slavery Abolition & Social Justice
Women in the National Archives
Africa
- African Newspapers (1800-1922) This link opens in a new windowAfrican Newspapers, 1800-1922 provides more than 40 fully searchable African newspapers published in the 19th and 20th centuries. Featuring English- and foreign-language titles from Ghana, Guinea-Bissau, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Madagascar, Malawi, Mozambique, Namibia, Nigeria, Sierra Leone, South Africa, Uganda and Zimbabwe, African Newspapers offers unparalleled coverage of the issues and events that shaped the continent and its peoples between 1800 and 1922.
Americas
- Women and Social Movements in the United States 1600-2000 This link opens in a new window
Archival document collections covering women's activism throughout US history, including papers of prominent organizations and individuals.
- America's Historical Imprints This link opens in a new window
Full-text, searchable scans of source material of all types from the 17th and 18th centuries; an important resource for primary information about every aspect of life in 17th- and 18th-century America.
- America's Historical Newspapers (1690-1876) This link opens in a new windowCover-to-cover reproductions of hundreds of historic newspapers, providing more than one million pages as full text searchable scanned page images.
- Caribbean History and Culture, 1535-1920Created from the renowned holdings of the Library Company of Philadelphia, Caribbean History and Culture, 1535-1920, is the largest and most significant collection of its kind. More than 1,200 fully cataloged and searchable books, pamphlets, almanacs, broadsides and ephemera cover the history of this broad region from the 16th century to the early 20th century. Included in America's Historical Imprints.
- Caribbean NewspapersHistorical Caribbean newspapers most published in the English language; some also in Spanish, French, and Danish. Included in America's Historical Newspapers.
- Early Encounters in North America This link opens in a new window
Letters, diaries, memoirs and accounts of early encounters between Native Americans and peoples from Europe, as well as Latin America, Asia, and Africa.
- Indigenous Peoples of North AmericaSources documenting the cultural, political, and social history of Native Peoples from the seventeenth to the twentieth century.
- Texas Digital ArchiveAccess to the electronic records collections of the Texas State Library and Archives Commission, including those transferred by state agencies or digitized by the State Archives.
Europe
- Times (London) Digital Archive (1785-2009)Archive of the Times of London, with full page scans that are searchable by keyword. Part of Gale Primary Sources.
- Eighteenth Century Collections OnlineScans of over 200,000 volumes published in English (mainly in the UK) in the 18th century, based on the English Short Title Catalogue. Included in Gale Primary Sources. Dates of Coverage: 1701 to 1800
- Early English Books Online This link opens in a new windowSearchable scans of nearly all existing English books up to the year 1700; this collection now contains over 100,000 of over 125,000 titles listed in Pollard Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640) and Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700) and their revised editions, as well as the Thomason Tracts (1640-1661) collection and the Early English Books Tract Supplement. Dates of Coverage: 1473-1700
- Nineteenth Century British Library Newspapers
Searchable full text of full runs of newspapers selected by the British Library to best represent nineteenth-century Britain. This new collection includes national and regional newspapers, as well as newspapers from: established country or university towns; the new industrial powerhouses of the manufacturing Midlands; and Scotland, Ireland, and Wales. Special attention was paid to include newspapers that helped lead particular political or social movements such as Reform, Chartism, and Home Rule. Penny papers aimed at the working and clerical classes are also included.
