Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
L' Année Philologique
Indexes articles in journals, books, and conference proceedings covering all aspects of classical studies. Historical coverage ranges from prehistory to the Middle Ages. Dates of Coverage: 1924 to date
Note: Only 2 simultaneous Oberlin users at one time.
TOCS-IN: Tables of Contents of Journals of Interest to Classicists
Searchable tables of contents for nearly 200 classics, Near Eastern studies, and religion journals; check boxes allow simultaneous searching of some pre-1992 journals and essays in books. Dates of coverage: 1992 to date
The German Archaeological Institute's Archaeological Bibliography is an essential research tool for the ancient Mediterranean culture. Offers a thesaurus based hierarchical search in addition to basic search options. This online version is a freely available continuation of Archaologische Bibliographie, and is being expanded on a daily basis by the German Archaeological Institute research institutes in Rome, Athens, Istanbul and Berlin.
Humanities International Complete
Index to journals, books and reference sources in all humanities disciplines, as well as selected original creative works including poems, fiction, photographs, and illustrations, with some content available full-text.
Brill's New Pauly by
Call Number: DE5 .N3513 2002
Publication Date: 2011-05-10
Brill s New Pauly is the first lexicographic project that both differentiates between Greco-Roman antiquity itself and its subsequent images, and demonstrates the close connection between antiquity and its aftermath. Volumes 1 to 15 (Antiquity) are devoted to Greco-Roman antiquity. Volumes I to V (Classical Tradition) are uniquely concerned with the long and influential aftermath of the classical heritage. Index Antiquity relates to the 15 volumes of Brill s New Pauly that deal with Antiquity. Index The Classical Tradition, relates to the 5 volumes of Brill s New Pauly that deal with the Classical Tradition.
Encyclopaedia of the Ancient World by
Call Number: DE5 .P33213 2006
Publication Date: 2006-08-01
BRILL'S NEW PAULY is the English edition of the authoritative DER NEUE PAULY, published by Verlag J.B. Metzler since 1996. The encyclopaedic coverage and high academic standard of the work, the interdisciplinary and contemporary approach and clear and accessible presentation have made the NEW PAULY the unrivalled modern reference work for the ancient world.Fifteen volumes (Antiquity, 1-15) of BRILL'S NEW PAULY are devoted to Greco-Roman antiquity and cover more than two thousand years of history, ranging from the second millennium BC to early medieval Europe. Special emphasis is given to the interaction between Greco-Roman culture on the one hand, and Semitic, Celtic, Germanic, and Slavonic culture, and ancient Judaism, Christianity, and Islam on the other hand.Five volumes (Classical Tradition, I-V) are uniquely concerned with the long and influential aftermath of antiquity and the process of continuous reinterpretation and revaluation of the ancient heritage, including the history of classical scholarship.BRILL'S NEW PAULY presents the current state of traditional and new areas of research and brings together specialist knowledge from leading scholars from all over the world. Many entries are elucidated with maps and illustrations and the English edition will include updated bibliographic references.
The Oxford Companion to Classical Civilization by
Publication Date: 2012
As well as providing sound information on all aspects of classical civilization (such as politics, society, religion, and mythology; science, technology and medicine; literature and art), the entries in the Companion reflect the changing interdisciplinary aspects of classical studies, covering broad thematic subjects, such as race, nationalism, gender, ethics, and ecology.
The Oxford encyclopedia of ancient Greece and Rome by
Publication Date: 2010
This is an accessible guide and a comprehensive overview of the major cultures of the classical Mediterranean world from the Bronze Age to the fifth century CE. It also covers the legacy of the classical world and its interpretation and influence in subsequentical world centuries