Oberlin College Archives FAQs

Q. Who founded Oberlin College? 

A. John J. Shipherd and Philo P. Stewart

Citations: RG 07/01/05, Office of the Treasurer Records, 1822-1997, Oberlin College Archives, Oberlin, Ohio and RG 30/083, John J. Shipherd Papers, Oberlin College Archives, Oberlin, Ohio. 

Q. On what date was Oberlin College founded?

A. December 3, 1833, was the first day of classes, and it is celebrated as the founding date for the College.

Citations: Robert Samuel Fletcher, A History of Oberlin College: From Its Foundation Through the Civil War (Oberlin College, 1943), 107. The First Annual Report of the Oberlin Collegiate Institute (Atlas Office, 1834), in RG 00, College General, 1834-2024. 

Q. What name was Oberlin College originally known by? 

A. The Oberlin Collegiate Institute

Citations: RG 01, Board of Trustees Records, 1833-1982, Oberlin College Archives, Oberlin, Ohio and RG 07, Office of the Treasurer Records, 1822-1997, Oberlin College Archives, Oberlin, Ohio. 

Q. During what year were women first accepted into the Collegiate Department (BA degree course)? 

A. 1837

Citation: RG 05/05/01, Office of the Secretary Records, 1833-1998, Oberlin College Archives, Oberlin, Ohio. 

Q. Who was the first Black graduate of Oberlin College? 

A. George Boyer Vashon, 1844

Common misconception: although Boyer Vashon is often cited as "top of his class" or valedictorian, Oberlin College did not utilize those superlatives at the time of his graduation. 

Citations: RG 28, Alumni and Development Records, Oberlin College Archives, Oberlin, Ohio. 

Q. Who was the first Black woman to earn a bachelor's degree in the United States? 

A. Mary Jane Patterson, who graduated from Oberlin College in 1862

Citation: RG 30/157, Lawson-Merrill Papers, 1978-1983, Oberlin College Archives, Oberlin, Ohio. 

Q. Who was the first Black student to graduate from the Conservatory of Music? 

A. Harriet Gibbs Marshall, 1889

Citation: Box 50 of RG 02/06/01 Henry Churchill King Presidential Papers, 1873-1943, undated, Oberlin College Archives, Oberlin, Ohio. 

Q. What is the oldest building still standing on Oberlin's campus? 

A. Peters Hall (completed in 1887) is the oldest building built by Oberlin College that is still standing on campus. The oldest building currently in use by the College is Shansi House (formerly known as Mallory House) although it was constructed as a private residence sometime before 1837. 

Citations: RG 53, Architectural Records, 1842-2008, undated, Oberlin College Archives, Oberlin, Ohio and RG 44, Subject Files, Oberlin College Archives, Oberlin, Ohio.