Allen Memorial Art Museum Resources
- Recommended order:
- Check the online E-Museum to browse or search for works of art
- Look at the bibliography, if available, for the work
- Search for the work of art (using quotation marks around the title) in the Allen Memorial Art Museum Bulletin database
- Look up any of the following in an Allen Memorial Art Museum collection catalog:
- Title of the work
- Creator
- Medium
- Style/Movement
- Check the online E-Museum to browse or search for works of art
About Collection Catalogs
"Collection catalogs" list objects owned by a museum. The Allen Museum has published three print and one digital collection catalog. Note that the collection catalogs here highlight works instead of being fully comprehensive reviews of the collections.
E-Museum
The E-Museum is the Allen Museum's digital collection catalog. Although it is the most up-to-date it does not duplicate all of the information in the other collection catalogs. For best results refer to both.
AMAM Collection Catalogs
Allen Memorial Art Museum: highlights from the collection by Call Number: Art Library, N650 .A52 2011Includes essays for many works not covered in previous catalogs of the collection. No bibliographies. In three parts:
1) A museum for Oberlin.
2) The collection: African, Ancient, Asian, American, European, Modern & contemporary, Prints & drawings, Photographs.
3) Beyond the galleries: Academic programs, K/12 education programs, Weltzheimer/Johnson House, Art rental collection, Friends of art.
Catalogue of European and American paintings and sculpture in the Allen Memorial Art Museum, Oberlin CollegeCall Number: Art Library, N650 .A57Publication Date: 1967Scholarly entries and black and white images make this an excellent resource for works acquired by the mid-1960s. An important title since not all, entries have been included in the museum's other collection catalogs.
Catalogue of drawings and watercolors in the Allen Memorial Art Museum, Oberlin College by Call Number: Art Library, NC25.O25 O256Publication Date: 1976Describes drawings and watercolors acquired by the museum through the the mid-1970s.
Allen Memorial Art Museum Bulletin
From 1944 through 2003 the museum published the Bulletin of the Allen Memorial Art Museum; check the bulletin for information about works added to the collection during those years.
Finding articles in the Bulletin:
1. Search the full-text of the digitized Bulletin.
Warning: Relevant essays may be missed due to low quality scans; for best results use single words.
The Bulletin is also available in print. Shelved in Art Library Periodicals under "Allen Memorial Art Museum Bulletin"
2. Use an index:
- Print indexes of the Bulletin are shelved with the physical volumes.
Index #1: Vols. 1-10, 1944-53; Index #2: Vols, 11-20, 1953-63; Index #3: Vols. 21-30, 1964-73. - Art Full text and Art Index Retrospective index articles in the Bulletin as well as other art journals; search for "allen museum" in SO Journal Name. Neither database searches the full-text of the Bulletin.
AMAM Curatorial files
The Curatorial files are used when there is little written about an art object and after consultation with the art librarian. Contact the Curator of Academic Programs at 440-775-8645. Appointments must be made at least 3 business days in advance and are limited to one hour.