Finding Materials in Search.Libraries
Call Number Browsing
While I would suggest using Search.Libraries to find the specific score you're looking for, sometimes you just want to browse and see what we have! The following call number ranges will likely be the most useful to Music Theater students.
M1500: Vocal Music in Full Score
These are somewhat rare, but the Con Lib does have some full scores (orchestra parts not reduced for piano) for operas and musicals.
M1503: Opera Vocal Scores
Vocal scores with piano, mostly operas but can include other kinds of dramatic music.
M1507: Song Anthologies in Piano-Vocal Scoring
Collected songs organized by composer, theme or topic, genre, time period, etc. Remember that the famous Singer's Musical Theatre Anthology series is on reserve at the Con Circulation Desk!
M1508: Vocal Selections from Specific Shows
Piano-vocal versions of songs from one show, organized on the shelf by composer last name.
M1630.18: Popular Song Compilations
This is where you might find jazz fake books, popular anthologies, etc.
Tips for Using Search.Libraries
When searching for vocal music, you might find you need to zoom out sometimes to find the right score, especially if you're just looking for one song! If you search for the song by name and can't find it, try searching for the show title instead or search for the composer name.
Finding Scores in Search.Libraries (Video)
Using Search.Libraries
If you know what play you're interested in reading, searching by title or by playwright should bring it up easily! If you'd prefer to browse online, these subject headings may be useful:
- Drama--Bibliography
- Drama collections
- Drama--Indexes
- Monologues
- One-act plays
Call Number Browsing
Many plays begin with the call number PN through PS, and they are kept within the Main Library.
Call Number Browsing
Nearly all librettos have the call number ML50, though some are embedded within scores. Some of these can be found in the Conservatory Library Reference area, and some are on the 1st floor of the West Wing of the Con Lib. Be sure to look at the location in Search.Libraries to be sure!
Finding recordings in Search.Libraries is pretty similar between audio and video. You can generally search by title, composer, playwright, performer, etc. Check out the video below for more tips!
Finding Recordings in Search.Libraries (Video)
Online and Open Access Resources
While some of the recordings on these databases can be found Search.Libraries, not all of them are listed there!
-
Berliner Philharmoniker Digital Concert Hall This link opens in a new window
The Digital Concert Hall is the virtual concert venue of the Berliner Philharmoniker on the Internet. There are more than 30 broadcasts a year, and the site contains an archive of past performances. Note: Only 5 simultaneous users.
-
DRAM This link opens in a new windowStreaming access to CD-quality audio, complete original liner notes and essays from independent record labels and sound archives. More than 4,000 albums' worth of recordings from a distinctive set of 42 independent labels and archives are available, with new content being continuously added.
-
Drama Online This link opens in a new windowA digital library of plays (playtext, audio, video) from Aeschylus to the present day. Also includes critical analysis, contextual information, and reference information. Includes a particular focus on performances by L.A. Theater Works, National Theatre, Royal Shakespeare Company, and The Globe.
-
medici.tv This link opens in a new windowA classical music digital channel, offering a catalogue of 1,400 programmes in video-on-demand, as well as 100 live concerts each year.
-
Met Opera On Demand This link opens in a new window
More than 450 Met performances. Dozens of Live in HD productions, classic telecasts from the 1970s, '80s, '90s, and '00s, and hundreds of radio broadcasts dating back to 1936.
-
Naxos Music Library This link opens in a new windowStreaming audio, liner notes, and biographical information on composers and performers.
-
Naxos Video Library This link opens in a new windowA performing arts video library with operas, ballets, documentaries, live concerts, and musical tours of historic places.
The following sites do not include the full-text of plays but are great resources to discover new titles and playwrights!
-
Dramatic PublishingCatalog of plays for purchase that includes musicals, full-length and one-act plays and theatrical books that allows filtering by type, theme, genre, target audience, and cast size.
-
Dramatists Play ServiceAllows filtering by genre and cast size.
-
The Kilroy ListOrganization that catalogs new plays by woman, trans, and non-binary authors.