Encyclopedias and Biographical Dictionaries
Oxford Research Encyclopedia of American History by Publication Date: 2014
American National Biography by Call Number: Main Library CT213 .A68 1999ISBN: 0195206355Publication Date: 1999-01-21American National Biography is the first new comprehensive biographical dicionary focused on American history to be published in seventy years. Produced under the auspices of the American Council of Learned Societies, the ANB contains over 17,500 profiles on historical figures written by an expert in the field and completed with a bibliography. The scope of the work is enormous--from the earlest recorded European explorations to the very recent past.
- Oxford Dictionary of National Biography This link opens in a new windowThe online version of the 60-volume print reference set Oxford Dictionary of National Biography (2004). Provides essays about the lives of noteworthy and influential men and women who shaped all aspects of Britain's past, from the fourth century BC to the year 2001. Over 50,000 deceased individuals from all walks of life are included, along with over 10,000 portrait illustrations. It includes not just the great and good, but people who have left a mark for any reason, good, bad, or bizarre. In addition to native Britons, the work includes people born abroad who spent a significant part of their lives in Britain, visitors who were important observers of British life, Britons who lived in Europe and played a significant part in the lives of their new countries, British-born people active in the empire, along with critics of imperial rule, and Americans from first settlement to independence. Dates of Coverage: 4th c. B.C.E. -- 2001
- Biography Reference Bank This link opens in a new window
Biographical information about over 500,000 people; includes images, full-text articles, and abstracts of biographical profiles, feature articles, interviews, essays, book reviews, performance reviews, speeches, and obituaries.
- Gale Literature This link opens in a new windowFull-text database that includes author biographies and work overviews, literary criticism, and indexed books, essays, and articles on world literature, and well as full-text of poems, short stories, novels, essays, speeches and plays.
- World Book Advanced This link opens in a new windowMore than 1.3 million pages of primary source documents, books, documents, selections fully integrated with the encyclopedia content. Research and teaching tools include timelines, citation builder, and saved research. Part of the World Book Web suite of online research tools that includes encyclopedia articles, primary source collections, educator tools, student activities, pictures, audio, and video, complemented by current periodicals and related Web sites. WBW uses a powerful search engine that integrates encyclopedia articles, media, primary source documents, e-books, maps, and more in a single search. Other special features: Timeline builder; Citation builder; Classroom activities, lesson plans, and discussion guides for every grade level; and Content correlated to state and provincial standards.
