Historic Newspapers
If you have a citation for a particular paper, search for the newspaper by title in Search Libraries to see if Oberlin has digital or print access to dates you are interested in. If you wish to search topically for news, consult one of the databases below.
-
America's Historical Newspapers (1690-1876) This link opens in a new windowIncludes Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980.
-
Los Angeles Times (1881 - 1996) This link opens in a new window
Search for keywords or browse images of complete pages by date.
-
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Full-text coverage of newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic, minority, and native press in America. Dates of Coverage: 1959 to date
-
American Periodicals (1740-1940) This link opens in a new windowScanned periodicals published between 1740 and 1940, including special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines and more.
-
Chronicling America: Historical American Newspapers This link opens in a new window
A collection of freely accessible historical American newspapers from all regions of the United States, developed by the Library of Congress. Dates of coverage: 1836-1963
-
HathiTrust Digital Library This link opens in a new window
HathiTrust is a repository of digital content from 50 research libraries, including electronic versions of nearly 8 million books at the time of writing.
Note: As of May 2023, Oberlin is a HathiTrust member. Oberlin students, faculty, and staff can access member features by clicking on the “LOG IN” button, choosing “Oberlin College and Conservatory”, and using their ObieID to authenticate. -
New York Times (1851 - 2021) This link opens in a new window
Search by keywords or browse images of full pages by date.
-
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
A wide range of news, political, legal, and business information from thousands of sources, mostly full text. Includes newspapers, magazines, wire services, federal and state court opinions, federal and state statutes, federal regulations, and SEC filings. News information is updated daily and wire services several times daily.
-
Black Studies Center This link opens in a new window
Covers the Black experience from ancient Africa to the modern day from perspectives in history, literature, political science, sociology, philosophy, music, visual arts, and religion. Includes index to Black Literature (1827-1940), Black Studies Periodical Database, and the full text backfile (1910-2010) of the influential black newspaper The Chicago Defender.
Digitized Archival Collections & Oral Histories
-
Political Extremism & Radicalism in the Twentieth Century (OhioLINK Access) This link opens in a new window
Political extremism and radicalism in the twentieth century is a compilation of rare and unique archival collections covering a wide range of fringe political movements. It offers a diverse mixture of materials, including periodicals, campaign propaganda, government records, oral histories, and various ephemera. Materials are primarily from the U.S., Britain, Europe, and Australia. Part of Gale Primary Sources.
-
Bracero ArchiveOral histories and artifacts pertaining to the Bracero program, a guest worker initiative that spanned the years 1942-1964. Millions of Mexican agricultural workers crossed the border under the program to work in more than half of the states in America.
-
Latino LorainOral history interviews of community members, historical documents including newspaper articles, photographs, and planning documents, as well as research about the history and present of Latinas/os in Lorain.
Edited collections published as books
Many useful primary sources will be collected in print or ebook compilations, with several texts or images on a related topic collected in a single volume. Testimonio: A Documentary History of the Mexican American Struggle for Civil Rights is an example of such a source. Often the most efficient way to find these sources is to use the browse subject function in Search.Libraries.
-
Testimonio
by
ISBN: 9781558852990Publication Date: 2000-01-01Beginning with the early 1800s and extending to the modern era, Rosales collects illuminating documents that shed light on the Mexican-American quest for life, liberty, and justice. Documents include petitions, correspondence, government reports, political proclamations, newspaper items, congressional testimony, memoirs, and even international treaties.
- Identify a subject heading relevant to your topic (e.g. Mexican Americans or Puerto Ricans Illinois Chicago or Chicano Movement History)
- Use the "Browse" function in Search.Libraries to browse related headings
- Look for subject headings ending in a form modifier that indicates the work contains primary sources:
- Sources
- Archives
- Correspondence
- Diaries
- Exhibitions
- Interviews
- Personal narrative
- Pictorial Works
- Maps
- Early Works to 1800