Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

RELG 240/EAST 154 : Religious Objects in East Asia: Special Collection Visit

Select Objects

Lotus Sūtra 妙法蓮花經 (Myōhō rengekyō)

Manuscript - Scroll

(Terrell Main Library - Special Collections)           Photo Credit: Visual Resources, Oberlin College Libraries

Lotus Sūtra 妙法蓮花經 (Myōhō rengekyō)

Detail

Manuscript; hand drawing gold ink lotus 

(Terrell Main Library - Special Collections)           Photo Credit: Visual Resources, Oberlin College Libraries

Lotus Sūtra 妙法蓮花經 (Myōhō rengekyō)

Mandala 

Manuscript 

(Terrell Main Library - Special Collections)           Photo Credit: Visual Resources, Oberlin College Libraries

Lotus Sūtra 妙法蓮花經 (Myōhō rengekyō)

8 volumes in a box 

1864

(Terrell Main Library - Special Collections)           Photo Credit: Visual Resources, Oberlin College Libraries

Lotus Sūtra 妙法蓮花經 (Myōhō rengekyō)

Accordion style

(Terrell Main Library - Special Collections)           Photo Credit: Visual Resources, Oberlin College Libraries

Woodblock - Japan

Japanese Woodblock of Sūtra of Long-life Bodhisattva Jizō with Japanese Annotation and Illustration

延命地藏經和訓圖會 (Enmi Jizōkyō wakun zue)

Kaei 嘉永 year 7  [1854]

(Terrell Main Library - Special Collections)           Photo Credit: Visual Resources, Oberlin College Libraries

Woodblock - Other side

Japanese Woodblock of Sūtra of Long-life Bodhisattva Jizō with Japanese Annotation and Illustration

延命地藏經和訓圖會 (Enmi Jizōkyō wakun zue)

Kaei 嘉永 year 7  [1854]

(Terrell Main Library - Special Collections)           Photo Credit: Visual Resources, Oberlin College Libraries

List of the items