Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
What is a Scholarly Article?
Both scholarly and peer-reviewed articles are written by experts in academic or professional fields. Scholarly articles are published in journals for specific academic disciplines. Many scholarly journals are also peer-reviewed.
Peer-reviewed articles are submitted to reviewers who are experts in the field. Because the reviewers specialize in the same scholarly area as the author, they are considered the author’s peers (hence “peer review”).
Both scholarly and peer-reviewed articles are excellent places to find what has been studied or researched on a topic, as well as find references to additional relevant sources of information.
Databases - Journal Articles
Access millions of pages of primary source collections spanning content from the 15th-21st centuries.
Ethnologue: Languages of the World
A complete catalog of all of the world's known living languages. Researchers can browse by region or country or search for a language, and find out where it is spoken, the number of speakers, the language's classification and related languages, and the current status of the language on a scale that indicates to what extent the language is thriving, developing, endangered or dying.
Humanities International Complete
Index to journals, books and reference sources in all humanities disciplines, as well as selected original creative works including poems, fiction, photographs, and illustrations, with some content available full-text.
Scholarly journal archive for the humanities, social sciences and natural sciences; current issues (usually the last 2-5 years) are not digitized by JSTOR and may be obtained elsewhere.
Literary Index provides quick and easy access to 130 literature products from Gale Group and the imprints Charles Scribner's Sons, St. James Press, and Twayne Publishers. These products contain complete biographies on authors and critical essays on their writings.
MLA International Bibliography
Index to books, essays, and journal articles on modern languages, literatures, fiction, folklore and linguistics. Topics include literary theory, criticism, folk literature and belief systems, linguistics, semantics, translation, dramatic arts, and history of printing and publishing. Covers literature worldwide and includes materials in all genres and in foreign languages. Dates of Coverage: 1926 to date
Other Resources at Oberlin College Libraries