Databases for Scholarly Articles
- Film & Television Literature Index This link opens in a new window
Index to journals, magazines, and selected books covering all aspects of film and television research, including film theory, preservation, restoration, screenwriting, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews.
- Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journal and trade magazine articles on all aspects of communication, rhetoric, journalism, film and television studies.
- Gender Studies Database This link opens in a new window
Covers the full spectrum of sexual diversity issues and gender-engaged scholarship inside and outside academia. Source documents include professional journals, conference papers, books, book chapters, government reports, discussion and working papers, theses and dissertations, and more. Dates of Coverage: 1972 to date
- SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new windowProvides full text of some journal articles, and indexing and abstracts for journals, books and conference papers. Covers all sub-fields of sociology, including criminology, gender, marriage & family studies, social work, social psychology, addictions, violence, and more. Covers scholarly publications in sociology, social work, and related fields. Contains 2.3 million articles and other materials (64% in full text) with deep coverage from 1960 and some back to 1882.
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary - good for nearly all subjects. Scholarly and trade journals, popular magazines, newspapers, conference proceedings, book reviews, and more.
- ARTbibliographies MODERN This link opens in a new window
Indexes 300+ journals published from 1969 to the present covering western European and North American art created in the late 19th century to the present. Also indexes exhibition catalogs, books and essays in books. Includes photography, the fine arts and new media but not architecture.
- Art Full Text (1984 to date) This link opens in a new window
Indexes 350 art magazines and journals covering pre-historic to contemporary art. Some full text from 1995-date. For earlier dates search its companion database the Art Index Retrospective. Searching both databases simultaneously for publications dated 1929 to the present. Both databases index the Allen Memorial Art Museum Bulletin.
- Art Index Retrospective (1929-1984) This link opens in a new window
Indexes 350 art magazines and journals covering pre-history to contemporary art. Indexes the Allen Memorial Art Museum Bulletin.
- Humanities International Complete This link opens in a new window
Index to journals, books and reference sources in all humanities disciplines, as well as selected original creative works including poems, fiction, photographs, and illustrations, with some content available full-text.
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
Index to books, essays, and journal articles on modern languages, literatures, fiction, folklore and linguistics. Topics include literary theory, criticism, folk literature and belief systems, linguistics, semantics, translation, dramatic arts, and history of printing and publishing. Covers literature worldwide and includes materials in all genres and in foreign languages. Dates of Coverage: 1926 to date
Newspaper Databases - single source
- Los Angeles Times (1881 - 1996) This link opens in a new window
Search for keywords or browse images of complete pages by date.
- New York Times (1851 - 2018) This link opens in a new window
Search by keywords or browse images of full pages by date.
- Times (London) Digital Archive (1785-2009)Archive of the Times of London, with full page scans that are searchable by keyword. Part of Gale Primary Sources.
Magazine Databases
- Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
Multidisciplinary - good for nearly all subjects. Scholarly and trade journals, popular magazines, newspapers, conference proceedings, book reviews, and more.
- MasterFILE Premier This link opens in a new window
Provides abstracting and indexing for popular magazines and periodicals, and full text for the majority of titles.
- Readers' Guide Retrospective (1890-1982) This link opens in a new window
Indexing of articles in historical American popular magazines of all types.