Database for Newspapers
- Japan Times (1897-2019) This link opens in a new windowFull text of all issues of this historically important newspaper covering the years 1897-2015. Japan Times is Japan's oldest English-language newspaper and the country's only independent English-language newspaper today.
- Nikkei Telecom 21 This link opens in a new window
Site navigation in Japanese; resources from more than 500 sources.
140+ national/regional/specialized newspapers
140+ national/specialized periodicals
30+ newswires
30+ stats, marketing, research information
40+ International source
Sources include Nikkei newspapers and magazines, Asahi, Yomiuri, Mainichi and Sankei.
Extensive Corporate Profiles, People Search and English sources also available.
Update frequency: Daily. 10,000 added daily.
Access for this resource is limited. Please contact aes@oberlin.edu for log in information. - World News Connection (1995 - 2013) This link opens in a new windowTranslations and transcripts of news stories from non-U.S. media sources including newspaper articles, conference proceedings, television and radio broadcasts, periodicals, and non-classified technical reports. Coverage focuses on socioeconomic, political, scientific, technical, and environmental issues and events. Dates of Coverage: 1995 - 2013
- Factiva This link opens in a new windowFull-text global news sources, including newspapers, newswires, television and radio transcripts, numerous regional and industry publications, and images from Reuters. Content comes from ~160 countries in 22 languages. Only 3 Oberlin users at one time.
Database for Articles
- CiNii Articles This link opens in a new windowCiNii Article Database is a Japanese scholarly journal index. Abstracts are available. Includes NDL Zasshi Kiji Sakuin search. Many full text articles from Daigaku Kiyo are available in pdf. Can search holding institutions. Can save your bibliographic information in three different formats. CiNii Articles Database is developed and managed by the National Institute of Informatics. Main databases included in CiNii Articles: Electronic Library Service Academic Society Journals (National Institute of Informatics), Electronic Library Service Research Bulletins (joint input from each university), Citation Database for Japanese Publications (National Institute of Informatics), Zasshi Kiji Sakuin (National Diet Library), Institutional Repository (Universities, etc.), JAIRO - Japanese Institutional Repositories Online, J-STAGE Journal Archive (Japan Science and Technology Agency).
- Zasshi kiji sakuin shusei detabesu This link opens in a new windowComplete database for Japanese magazines and periodicals from the Meiji era to the present. Index to periodical articles published in Japanese, including those in former Japanese colonies, and local periodicals not present in many other indexes. Coverage is from 1868 onwards.
- IRDB – Institutional Repositories DataBase This link opens in a new window
A project of Japan's National Institute of Informatics, the Institutional Repositories DataBase (IRDB) collects the metadata of academic resources (i.e., journal articles, theses and dissertations, departmental bulletins, research papers, etc.) across academic institutional repositories in Japan. The accumulated metadata are freely searchable in IRDB, as well as in other academic platforms (e.g., CiNii and NDL Search in Japan, and OpenAIRE in the European Union).
In 2019, IRDB superseded Japanese Institutional Repositories Online (JAIRO), an index of over 1 million academic resources, with links to full text of more than 75% of the same.
