Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
News & Newspapers
African American Newspapers, Series 1 (1827-1998)
Provides online access to hundreds of historical U.S. newspapers chronicling the African American experience. Included in America's Historical Newspapers. Included in America's Historical Newspapers. Dates of Coverage: 1827-1998
African American Newspapers, Series 2, (1835-1956)
Provides online access to hundreds of historical U.S. newspapers chronicling the African American experience. Included in America's Historical Newspapers. Dates of Coverage: 1835-1956.
African American Periodicals (1825-1995)
More than 170 periodicals by and about African Americans, published in 26 states. Includes academic and political journals, commercial magazines, institutional newsletters, bulletins, annual reports and more.
America's Historical Newspapers (1690-1876)
Cover-to-cover reproductions of hundreds of historic newspapers, providing more than one million pages as full text searchable scanned page images.
Full-text coverage of newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic, minority, and native press in America. Dates of Coverage: 1959 to date
Primary Source Databases
Access millions of pages of primary source collections spanning content from the 15th-21st centuries.
Civil Rights in America: From Reconstruction to the Great Society
Premier archive of official publications and primary source material related to civil rights in the United States from the 19th century through the 20th century.
Hein Online - Law and Government
Legal periodicals, case law, foreign and international law, documents and treaties, U.S. federal government information. Includes a database called Civil Rights and Social Justice, which brings together a diverse offering of publications covering civil rights in the United States, as their legal protections and definitions are expanded to cover more and more Americans.
Behind the Veil: Documenting African American Life in the Jim Crow South
A selection of 410 recorded oral history interviews chronicling African-American life during the age of legal segregation in the American South, from the 1890s to the 1950s.
Black Lives Matter
Black Lives Matter Foundation, Inc. is a global organization in the US, UK, and Canada, whose mission is to eradicate white supremacy and build local power to intervene in violence inflicted on Black communities by the state and vigilantes. By combating and countering acts of violence, creating space for Black imagination and innovation, and centering Black joy, we are winning immediate improvements in our lives.
Identifies trusted information, interpretation, and scholarship on the global black experience. Users can find citations to exhibitions, books, articles, photographs, prints, audio and video streams, and selected external links on the history and cultures of the peoples of Africa and the African Diaspora.
Lynching in America: Confronting the Legacy of Racial Terror
Documents thousands of racial terror lynchings in and out of the Deep South.