Multi-Subject Sources
- Oxford Reference This link opens in a new windowHundreds of dictionaries, general reference, language reference, and subject reference works from Oxford University Press.
- Oxford Research Encyclopedias This link opens in a new window
Designed to be an authoritative resource of reference content in a wide array of academic fields, including the humanities, social sciences, and science.
- Sage Knowledge This link opens in a new windowDictionaries, encyclopedias, guides and handbooks from a range of social science fields.
Biographical Sources
Fifty Major Thinkers on Education: From Confucius to DeweyISBN: 0203467124Publication Date: 20023 simultaneous users limit. Provides summaries of the great educators of the past. Covering a time-span from 500 BC to the early twentieth century each essay gives key biographical information, an outline of the individual's principal achievements and activities, an assessment of their impact and influence, a list of their major writings and suggested further reading.
Fifty Modern Thinkers on Education: From Piaget to the PresentISBN: 0203464699Publication Date: 20021 simultaneous user limit. Looks at fifty of the 20th century's most significant contributors to the debate on education. Each essay gives key biographical information, an outline of the individual's principal achievements and activities, an assessment of his or her impact and influence and a list of their major writings and suggested further reading.
Palgrave Handbook of Educational ThinkersISBN: 9783031251344Publication Date: 2024This handbook presents a durable, comprehensive, and up-to-date resource covering the seminal thinkers in education of past and present. Each entry will capture the professional background of a legendary thinker and presents their key insights, new thinking, and major legacies to the field of education.
Dictionaries and Encyclopedias
A Dictionary of Education by
Education is of relevance to everyone but it involves a specialized vocabulary and terminology which may be opaque or unfamiliar to those new to the field. This UK-focused Dictionary of Education provides clear and concise definitions for over 1,100 terms, from A* to zero tolerance, thatanyone studying education or working in the field is likely to encounter. Coverage includes all sectors of education: pre-school, primary, secondary, further and higher education, special needs, adult and continuing education, and work-based learning. It also includes major legislation, key figuresand organizations, and national curriculum and assessment terminology.This second edition covers all the contemporary reforms being introduced to revise the school examinations system and to reform the process of initial teacher training in England and Wales. Coverage of the vocabulary of education has also been increased, and longer and more detailed entries areincluded for terms relating to disability and inclusive practice, such as autistic spectrum disorder, attention deficit, and dyslexia, and to professional development, such as mentor. Entries regarding projects and initiatives that are now obsolete have been deleted.The dictionary features entry-level web links, accessible and kept up to date via the Dictionary of Education companion website. Detailed appendices include a timeline summary of landmark educational legislation since 1945 and a glossary of acronyms. In addition, there is a useful, fullycross-referenced section of comparative terms used in the US, Canada, Australia, and South Africa. This concise yet authoritative dictionary is essential for all students of education, teachers, and lecturers on development programmes, and it is strongly recommended for governors, classroomassistants, and parents.
ISBN: 9780199679393Publication Date: 2015
Oxford Research Encyclopedia of Education
Substantive, peer-reviewed, and regularly updated, the Oxford Research Encyclopedia of Education combines the speed & flexibility of digital with the rigorous standards of academic publishing
ISBN: 0190264098Publication Date: Updated monthly
Encyclopedia of Educational Reform and Dissent
With nearly 450 entries, this encyclopedia brings together the strands of reform and dissent. Opens with a historical overview of educational reform and dissent and a timeline of key reforms, legislation, publications, and more. Examines the reform or dissent related to education found in theories, concepts, ideas, writings, research, and practice.
ISBN: 9781412956642Publication Date: 2010
Encyclopedia of Special Education
The only encyclopedia or comprehensive reference devoted to special education Editors-In-Chief and Contributing Editors are leading researchers and scholars in the field New edition includes over 200 more entries than previous edition, with increased attention given to those topics that have grown in importance since the publication of the third edition, such as technology, service delivery policies, international issues, neuropsychology, and Response to Intervention, Positive Behavioral Interventions and Supports (PBIS), Autism and Applied Behavior Analysis. In addition, the entries will be updated to cover the latest editions of the assessment instruments frequently administered in special education settings Includes an international list of authors and descriptions of special education in 35 countries Includes technology and legal updates to reflect a rapidly changing environment 4 Volumes
ISBN: 9780470642160Publication Date: 2014
Encyclopedia of the Sciences of Learning
Includes broad and authoritative coverage of the specific terms mostly used in the sciences of learning and its related fields, including relevant areas of instruction, pedagogy, cognitive sciences, and especially machine learning and knowledge engineering.
ISBN: 9781441914279Publication Date: 2011
Sage Encyclopedia of Educational Technology
This SAGE encyclopedia examines information on leveraging the power of technology to support teaching and learning. While using innovative technology to educate individuals is certainly not a new topic, how it is approached, adapted, and used toward the services of achieving real gains in student performance is extremely pertinent. This reference explores such issues, focusing on core topics and issues that will retain relevance in the face of perpetually evolving devices, services, and specific techniques
ISBN: 1483346404Publication Date: 2015
Philosophy and Theory
Encyclopedia of Educational Philosophy and Theory
Offers both short and long entries on topics of theoretical and practical interest in educational theory and philosophy.
ISBN: 9812875883Publication Date: 2017
Encyclopedia of Educational Theory and Philosophy
The two-volume Encyclopedia of Educational Theory and Philosophy introduces readers to theories that have stood the test of time and those that have provided the historical foundation for the best of contemporary educational theory and practice.
ISBN: 9781483346212Publication Date: 2014
Philosophy of Education: The Key Concepts
An easy to use A-Z guide summarizing all the key terms, ideas and issues central to the study of educational theory today. Fully updated, the book is cross-referenced throughout and contains pointers to further reading, as well as new entries on such topics as: Citizenship and Civic Education Liberalism Capability Well-being Patriotism Globalisation Open-mindedness Creationism and Intelligent Design. Comprehensive and authoritative this highly accessible guide provides all that a student, teacher or policy-maker needs to know about the latest thinking on education in the 21st century.'
ISBN: 0415428920Publication Date: 2008
Philosophy of Education: An Encyclopedia
This encyclopedia charts the influence of philosophic ideas that have had the greatest influence on education from Ancient Greece to the present. It covers classical thinkers as Plato, Augustine, Hypatia, Locke and Rousseau, as well as recent figures such as Montessori, Heldegger, Du Bois and Dewey. It illuminates time-hounded ideas and concepts such as idealism, practical wisdom, scholasticism, tragedy and truth, as well as modern constructs as critical theory, existentialism, phenomenology, Marxism and post-Colonialism.
ISBN: 081531177XPublication Date: 1996
