News Sources
- ProPublicaAn independent, nonprofit newsroom that produces long form investigative journalism with moral force.
- International Consortium of Investigative JournalistsA small, resourceful newsroom with a reporting team, as well as a global network of reporters and media organizations who work together to investigate the most important stories in the world.
- Factiva This link opens in a new windowFull-text global news sources, including newspapers, newswires, television and radio transcripts, numerous regional and industry publications, and images from Reuters. Content comes from ~160 countries in 22 languages. Only 3 Oberlin users at one time.
- AP Archive This link opens in a new windowThe film and video archive of the Associated Press is freely available on YouTube. The collection includes over 1.7 million global news and entertainment stories dating back to 1895.
- LGBT Magazine Archive This link opens in a new windowA searchable archive of major periodicals devoted to LGBT+ interests. (Dates of coverage: 1950-)
- Newspaper Source This link opens in a new window
Newspaper Source provides full text for hundreds of national, regional (U.S.), and international newspapers, as well as full-text television, radio, and news transcripts.
- Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Full-text coverage of newspapers, magazines, and journals of the ethnic, minority, and native press in America. Dates of Coverage: 1959 to date
Media Bias
INTERACTIVE Media Bias Chart by Vanessa Otero
The chart was created by Vanessa Otero, a patent attorney, who delivered a webinar to librarians on Information Literacy. Click on the chart below to go to an interactive and more recent version of Otero's Media Bias Chart. On version 5.0 (beta) users can search individual newspaper titles to see where they fall on the spectrum of liberal or conservative, based on Otero's/Ad Fontes Media's evaluation system.
Fact-checking Sites
Use fact-checking resources like these to help you determine whether what you read or hear is true. But keep in mind that even fact-checking websites should be examined critically.
-
FactCheck.org
Checks the accuracy of political statements, news, and claims. A project of the Annenberg Public Policy Center. -
LinkedIn
This professional networking site can be used to check the qualifications and expertise of authors.
-
Media Bias / Fact Check
Aims to call biased or deceptive news and media practices -
PolitiFact
Nonpartisan fact-checking website to sort out the truth in American politics. The site's "Truth-o-meter" helps separate "fact from fiction" in political statements, including advertisements, from races around the country. -
The Poynter Institute / Fact-Checking Resources
The world’s leading resource for journalists to engage and inform the public in democratic societies. -
Snopes.com
Since 1995 this site has been used to fact-check "urban legends, folklore, myths, rumors, and misinformation." -
Washington Post Fact Checker
Fact checks political and governmental topics.