Skip to Main Content

Major Newspapers: New York Times

Instructions for setting up a free Oberlin New York Times subscription and coverage details for other major newspapers including the Los Angeles Times, the Wall Street Journal, the Washington Post, and the Cleveland Plain Dealer.

Full Text Access

Format Date Range Location
Website Recent articles

nytimes.com

Sign up for an Oberlin New York Times Pass to read without article limits.
Full text database 1980-present Nexis Uni
Full text database 1980-present Factiva (limited to 3 simultaneous users from Oberlin at a single time)
Microfilm 1851 - Terrell Main Library, 2nd Floor Southwest (map)
Full text database 1851-2020 New York Times (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)

 

New York Times Pass

Institutional access to the NYTimes.com is provided to all current Oberlin College students, faculty, and staff.  

If you are new to campus or have not previously registered for Oberlin's institutional NYTimes access

  • While on campus and connected to the Oberlin’s network or while using the VPN, visit accessnyt.com.
  • Create an account (claim a Pass) using your @oberlin.edu email address.
  • You have successfully claimed a Pass when you see the Start Your Access screen.

Once registered you’ll be able to access NYTimes.com by logging into your account from any computer/tablet/device you use.

Students: when registering you will be asked for your date of graduation from Oberlin; your status will stay active through that date, with no need to reactivate/re-authenticate.

Faculty/staff: you will have to re-authenticate annually, 364 days from when you last registered/authenticated for your NYTimes.com Pass. You may not reactivate your Pass until your previous access has expired.

To reactivate your Pass:

  • While on-site and connected to the Oberlin’s network (or while using the VPN from off campus) visit accessnyt.com.
  • Make sure you are logged into the NYTimes.com account with which you activated your last Pass.
  • You will be granted a new Pass and see the Start Your Access screen.
  • The new Pass will be good for 364 days.

Please contact the research help desk with any questions - reference@oberlin.edu.