What is a Scholarly Article?
Both scholarly and peer-reviewed articles are written by experts in academic or professional fields. Scholarly articles are published in journals for specific academic disciplines. Many scholarly journals are also peer-reviewed.
Peer-reviewed articles are submitted to reviewers who are experts in the field. Because the reviewers specialize in the same scholarly area as the author, they are considered the author’s peers (hence “peer review”).
Both scholarly and peer-reviewed articles are excellent places to find what has been studied or researched on a topic, as well as find references to additional relevant sources of information.
Databases for Gender Studies
- AM-Explorer This link opens in a new window
Access millions of pages of primary source collections spanning content from the 15th-21st centuries.
- Archives of sexuality & gender: LGBTQ history and culture since 1940 Collection This link opens in a new window
With material drawn from hundreds of institutions and organizations, including both major international activist organizations and local, grassroots groups the documents present important aspects of LGBTQ life in the second half of the twentieth century and beyond. The archive includes gay and lesbian newspapers from more than 35 countries, reports, policy statements, personal correspondence, and other documents. Dates of coverage: 1940-. Part of Gale Primary Sources.
- Gender Studies Database This link opens in a new window
Covers the full spectrum of sexual diversity issues and gender-engaged scholarship inside and outside academia. Source documents include professional journals, conference papers, books, book chapters, government reports, discussion and working papers, theses and dissertations, and more. Dates of Coverage: 1972 to date
- LGBT Magazine Archive This link opens in a new windowA searchable archive of major periodicals devoted to LGBT+ interests. (Dates of coverage: 1950-)
- LGBTQ+ Source This link opens in a new window
Includes the full text of more than one hundred current or historically significant Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender (LGBT) journals, magazines and regional newspapers, and books.
- LGBTQ+ Source This link opens in a new window
Includes the full text of more than one hundred current or historically significant Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender (LGBT) journals, magazines and regional newspapers, and books.
