EAST 208: Gender and Sexuality in Chinese Culture and Society: Background Sources

In more than 2, 000 pages of alphabetical entries, each ranging from 500 to 5, 000 words, Encyclopedia of Modern China provides critical information on the most populous country and most dynamic trade market in the world: the people, politics, economics, religion, philosophy, traditions, art, and literature of this ancient and enduring civilization is explored from the beginning of the nineteenth century to the present day. Given Chinas increasing role in world affairs, its modern history and culture are of great interest to many, and this work is designed to bring reliable and accessible facts and analysis to students, professionals, and others who study and interact with China and her people.

The goal of Handbook of International Perspectives on Feminism is to present the histories, status, and contours of feminist research and practice in their respective regional and/or national contexts. The editors have invited researchers who are doing this work to present their perspectives on women, culture, and rights with the objective to illuminate the diverse forms that feminist psychological work takes around the world, and connect these forms with the unique positions and concerns of women in these regions.

The encyclopedia offers significant material on such often neglected subjects as women and minorities, modern drama, Sino-French War,  the federalist movement, overseas Chinese, Mongolian independence, and more.  Special emphasis throughout is on the dramatic changes that have taken place in the country since the end of World War II. Provides an overview of the modern era. The entries are written by China specialists, who are thoroughly familiar with every aspect of the nation and its peoples.  While history predominates, the articles cover all academic fields and include considerable material on recent decades as well as on earlier periods.  There are entries on national political leaders and key thinkers, major events and trends in the nation's history, institutions, organizations, and currents of thought that led to the emergence of the modern nation.  The encyclopedia's longer essays offer detailed and insightful surveys of censorship,  important eras, literary movements, powerful social groups, anti-imperialism campaigns,  Five Year Plans, the Sino-Vietnamese War, economic breakthroughs, and other vital topics.  The coverage is informed by a thorough exploration of the historical role of Chinese nationalism, a potent force that was shaped by the need to retain national unity and independence under foreign assault.

A collection of seminal primary readings on the social, intellectual, and religious traditions of China, Sources of Chinese Tradition, Volume 1 has been widely used and praised for almost forty years as an authoritative resource for scholars and students and as a thorough and engaging introduction for general readers.