In the library session
Explore the mapping sources described on this page with a partner. Find a source that you find interesting, and describe it for the class.
Finding Maps in Books
Useful subject headings for searching in OBIS:
Map Databases
- David Rumsey Map CollectionOnline collection of searchable, scanned historical maps.
- Perry Castañeda Library Map CollectionScans of historical maps from the University of Texas at Austin map library.
- AM-Explorer This link opens in a new windowAccess millions of pages of primary source collections spanning content from the 15th-21st centuries.
- Library of Congress Digital Collections This link opens in a new windowGateway to the Library of Congress's vast resources of digitized American historical materials. Comprising more than 9 million items that document U.S. history and culture, the content is organized into more than 100 thematic collections. (Search tip: Select map from the dropdown when searching.)
- Perry-Castañeda Library Map Collection Topical Maps on Other Web SitesCollection of topical maps (e.g. storming the U.S. capitol, wildfires, Hong Kong unrest, etc.) curated by UT librarians.
- AfriterraThe AFRITERRA Foundation is a non-profit Cartographic Library and Archive assembling and preserving the original rare maps of Africa in a definitive place for education and interpretation. Includes data about the maps, together with more than 500 scans of maps of Africa. Maps date from 1480 to 1900.
Visual Data Journalism
Visual data journalism uses maps, graphics, and other visual representations of data to communicate stories developed using traditional reporting methods. The newspapers linked below have national reputations for generating well crafted visual data stories.
New York Times Pass
Institutional access to the NYTimes.com is provided to all current Oberlin College students, faculty, and staff.
If you are new to campus or have not previously registered for Oberlin's institutional NYTimes access
- While on campus and connected to the Oberlin’s network or while using the VPN, visit accessnyt.com.
- Create an account (claim a Pass) using your @oberlin.edu email address.
- You have successfully claimed a Pass when you see the Start Your Access screen.
Once registered you’ll be able to access NYTimes.com by logging into your account from any computer/tablet/device you use.
Students: when registering you will be asked for your date of graduation from Oberlin; your status will stay active through that date, with no need to reactivate/re-authenticate.
Faculty/staff: you will have to re-authenticate annually, 364 days from when you last registered/authenticated for your NYTimes.com Pass. You may not reactivate your Pass until your previous access has expired.
To reactivate your Pass:
- While on-site and connected to the Oberlin’s network (or while using the VPN from off campus) visit accessnyt.com.
- Make sure you are logged into the NYTimes.com account with which you activated your last Pass.
- You will be granted a new Pass and see the Start Your Access screen.
- The new Pass will be good for 364 days.
Please contact the research help desk with any questions - reference@oberlin.edu.
Local and Regional
- Oberlin College Campus Views (Oberlin College Archives)offers a wide range of types of graphic materials, from nearly the span of Oberlin College's history. The images, selected from various collections in the Archives, capture the changing built and landscape environment at Oberlin at particular points in space and time, made for various purposes.
- Popular Images in the Oberlin College ArchivesIn response to popular and scholarly demand for images from the Oberlin College Archives for illustrations in publications, this virtual collection presents some of the most widely circulated images from the extraordinarily rich collections at Oberlin College.
- King Crane Commission Digital Archive CollectionAt the end of World War I, the major powers negotiated the future of the areas under the control of the defeated Central Powers. One of the areas on the chopping block was the Ottoman Empire, long coveted by various empires. President Woodrow Wilson asked then Oberlin College President (1902-1927) Henry Churchill King to co-chair the American Section of the Inter-Allied Commission on Mandates in Turkey, which came to be known as the King-Crane Commission. The Commission, which was originally intended to be international in character, like other fact-finding missions of the Paris Peace Conference, became a solely American enterprise in the face of British and French foot-dragging.
- Oberlin Heritage CenterOberlin's local historical society. Has some digital collections, also lots of maps available to people who visit in person.
- Western Reserve Historical Society Digital CollectionsCleveland historical society digital collections.
- Cleveland HistoricalCleveland Historical is a free mobile app that puts Cleveland history at your fingertips. Developed by the Center for Public History + Digital Humanities at Cleveland State University, Cleveland Historical lets you explore the people, places, and moments that have shaped the city’s history. Learn about the region through layered, map-based, multimedia presentations, use social media to share your stories, and experience curated historical tours of Northeast Ohio.
Digital Mapping Tools
- TopoView (USGS)Unbiased, objective, and impartial topographic maps from the U.S. Geologic Survey.
- Social Explorer This link opens in a new windowProvides access to current and historical U.S. census and other demographic data. Users can create maps and reports.
- Native Land DigitalCreates spaces where non-Indigenous people can be invited and challenged to learn more about the lands they inhabit, the history of those lands, and how to actively be part of a better future going forward together.
Sample Digital Mapping Projects
Creating a map to illustrate a particular historical point is a common digital humanities project. Below are some samples the librarian found interesting. Many, many more projects in this vein exist, try googing digital humanities map with your topic to see what's available.